Graphics upgrade

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by BowlOfSpiders, Dec 26, 2010.

Dec 26, 2010

Graphics upgrade by BowlOfSpiders at 9:28 PM (1,611 Views / 0 Likes) 24 replies

  1. BowlOfSpiders
    OP

    Member BowlOfSpiders hi

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    My friend currently has an ATI Radeon HD 4200 integrated graphics chip and would like to upgrade to a graphics card. He has a desktop, what would be a good card for him?
     


  2. Eighteen

    Member Eighteen GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    846
    Location:
    Yeah..
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ME got a Nvidia Geforce 295GTX , it's aaaaweeesome!!! [​IMG]
    check out some benchmarks!!
     
  3. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    a Radeon HD 5770 would be a good choice. or if you have the money get the latest nVidia GTX 570
     
  4. Bulit

    Member Bulit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
  5. BowlOfSpiders
    OP

    Member BowlOfSpiders hi

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I forgot to list that he wants one under $125
     
  6. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,748
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just a note- while you can stick any graphics card in your machine (assuming it is the correct form factor and physically fits- some high end cards get very big) you should also check the power supply as graphics cards are power hungry beasts and tend to ask for more power than cheap PSUs (one is probably in the machine) offer up.
     
  8. BowlOfSpiders
    OP

    Member BowlOfSpiders hi

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Would this work with a 250 watt PSU?
     
  9. Bulit

    Member Bulit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    No.
    The minimum is 450 watts.
     
  10. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ninja'd [​IMG] >_>
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You won't get anything decent for a 250W.

    You WILL get a new PSU, or you will not get a new card.
     
  12. BowlOfSpiders
    OP

    Member BowlOfSpiders hi

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    What would be a good 450 watt PSU for SKU 1243488 on bestbuy.com?
     
  13. Bulit

    Member Bulit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    and you will most likely not have enough room for it in your case.
    Oh and fix the broken link.
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I'd suggest a 500W to be safe.

    You do NOT tax your PSU, EVER, PERIOD.

    I'm sure you'd rather have a computer with slightly less graphical ability than one with dead internals.
     
  15. BowlOfSpiders
    OP

    Member BowlOfSpiders hi

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    But will it fit in said computer? And which PSU on newegg would be good?
     
  16. Bulit

    Member Bulit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    no, i suggest buying a new tower .
     
  17. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  18. Ubuntuの刀

    Member Ubuntuの刀 :^D

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    377
    Country:
    United States
    Instead of going through this hassle, buy a new computer for under 500$ instead of getting something around 125$.

    If i had to take in 3 factors, I'd do it from the start :wtf: Cuz all of this is confusin' the hell out of me, for real.
     
  19. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,156
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Whether or not a new PSU fits in the case depends on the size of the case and the size of the PSU. "Slim" cases generally can't fit the more powerful PSUs, although bog-standard cases can fit any non-extended PSU (which usually means anything up to 750W or so).

    Cases can be relatively cheap, but also quite expensive, depending on what you want in it. I can probably pick up a functional case for $20 to build mid-ranged computers, which leaves another $40-60 for a decent PSU. Of course, that also means that you won't get so much money for the GPU.

    EDIT: In response to maxlwin, cost for a Core i3 upgrade kit (with RAM and motherboard): ~$250-300. Cost for a complete mid-ranged computer (assuming HD5770 and 1TB HDD), ~$600-700. Cost for replacing the case and PSU alone, ~$50-150 (depending on how good you need them to be). It's all relative. The motherboard, CPU and RAM make up the "guts" of the computer. The Case and PSU make up "body" of the computer. The drives are only added on once the rest are sorted out, and the graphics card should be the last part bought for the computer because the longer you wait on it, the more money you can save up, the cheaper the prices get and generally the stronger the GPU you get in the end.
     
  20. Infinite Zero

    Member Infinite Zero Almost!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,922
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    I couldn't resist, but why do you using "ME?"
    Don't you know how to use the FRACKING "I?"
     

Share This Page