Graphic card and RAM

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by tyuno123, Dec 10, 2008.

Dec 10, 2008

Graphic card and RAM by tyuno123 at 8:05 AM (1,158 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. tyuno123
    OP

    Member tyuno123 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    Your Mind
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I checked out some games here and on some of the games everything on my computer passed except for the RAM and graphic card.

    The required RAM is 1GB but it says that I have only 512 MB RAM.When I used the PC Wizard to check my computer it says that I have 1024 MB DDR-SDRAM.

    For the Graphics card,


    Video Card
    Minimum: NVIDIA Geforce 6600+ / ATI x700+
    You Have: ATI Radeon 9550 / X1050 Series (ATI Radeon Graphics Processor AGP (0x4153))

    FAIL: Sorry, your video card does not meet this minimum requirement. Upgrade to a more powerful video card will make all your applications look better. Click the 'We Recommend' button to see some great options.


    Video Card Features - Minimum attributes of your Video Card

    Pass - Video Card 3D Acceleration: Required - Yes , You have - Yes
    Pass - Video HW Transform & Lighting: Required - Yes , You have - Yes
    Pass - Vertex Shader Ver.: Required - 2.0 , You have - 2.0
    Pass - Pixel Shader Ver.: Required - 2.0 , You have - 2.0

    Card doesn't reach requirement but the features are on PAR

    Does this mean the game can run on my PC ?
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,734
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Games requirements: good to see the art of plucking numbers out of thin air still exists and at that level of mastery.

    That site: some java app hacked together is something I have to think twice about running let alone trusting the results.

    Best way is to try it and if that does not work then the following sites are fairly useful:
    http://www.tweakguides.com/
    http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/wiki/...x.php/Main_Page (the site is about widescreen gaming but it generally takes some serious optimisation and graphics tweaking knowledge to pull it off).
     
  3. tyuno123
    OP

    Member tyuno123 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    Your Mind
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Thanks, I'll try those sites out later when I get home

    WOW FAST6191 1 more post till 5k posts
     
  4. tyuno123
    OP

    Member tyuno123 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    Your Mind
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Okay so I got Catalyst Control Center already installed but I only want to upgrade the driver do I still uninstall the ATi software uninstall utility or just the ATi display driver ?
     
  5. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Display driver. Though for me personally, I would do a complete uninstall. Most of the driver packages have the control center added with it.
     
  6. tyuno123
    OP

    Member tyuno123 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    Your Mind
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Damn ATi, I just put in 8.11 and now 8.12 comes out

    what are the pro's of using the latest drivers ?
     
  7. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,187
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
     
  8. tyuno123
    OP

    Member tyuno123 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    Your Mind
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Again, I'm not sure if I can run Left 4 Dead on my PC, I got the graphic card features required to play the game but it says it can only run on at least ATi Radeon 9600 or later.I currently have Radeon 9550.
     
  9. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,734
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Both appear to support DX9 and the same shaders (a basic search does not reveal any differences other than speed, a note on the shaders it may not be 3.0 as needed by some cards but I am not going to say without further reading)
    They have the same amount of pipelines (not overly important mind) and similar speeds (the 9550 is slower though).
    As we said at the start specs are at best useless and at worst silly.
     
  10. tyuno123
    OP

    Member tyuno123 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    Your Mind
    Country:
    Malaysia
    so I will be able to play L4D but it will be slow ?
     
  11. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Try it I'd say. I haven't played L4D at all so no clue if it would run on your system, but reading fast's post would suggest that or it being ugly [​IMG].
     

Share This Page