Got an Wii with D3-2

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by titanix, Aug 12, 2010.

Aug 12, 2010

Got an Wii with D3-2 by titanix at 7:33 PM (1,191 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. titanix
    OP

    Newcomer titanix Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hi folks, I just buy an Wii with the damned D3-2 Drive. I looked around and see that there's no way do play backups on it. I don't know about hardmod so much, so I'd like some help to choose what chip should I buy. I think Wiikey or Wiifusion won't work that's correct?
     
  2. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,531
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    It's impossible to play backups with a D3x drive, no hardmod, no softmod. Buy a USB HDD and use a USB loader or buy a D2x replacement drive!
     
  3. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    you could always replace the drive, which I'm pretty sure would be classified as a hardmod [​IMG]
     
  4. smash_brew

    Member smash_brew I may or may not have fallen

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    708
    Country:
    United States
    a wode would work.
     
  5. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    rubbish, get a usb hdd amd it wikll save you the hassle of installing and the high price,

    edit:not that it's bad but it's easier to get a hdd
     
  6. titanix
    OP

    Newcomer titanix Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Brazil
    So just replace de whole drive is enough? Or I must exchange only the board or the optical unity?
     
  7. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,531
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    No, a replacement drive is enough. But WHY you MUST play from disc? A HDD is better, faster and you don't need to buy something else.
     
  8. xfcrowman

    Member xfcrowman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    430
    Country:
    United States
    I agree with Fix94 - for wii games there is no need to play any games with discs. Everything is playable either through conventional loaders (i.e. wiiflow), or through SNEEK.

    However, one thing that you will lose is the ability to play GC backups, since they are only playable from discs.

    If this is important to you then buy an older drive and follow a guide to install it.
     
  9. smash_brew

    Member smash_brew I may or may not have fallen

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    708
    Country:
    United States
    a wode would play gc backups too.
     
  10. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,531
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    But without audio streaming, and a WODE is much more expensive then a replacement drive, and a replacement drive can use audio streaming.
    edit: OK smash_brew, that's definitely advertising what you are doing!
     
  11. smash_brew

    Member smash_brew I may or may not have fallen

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    708
    Country:
    United States
    it was said that buying an older disc drive was the only way to play gc backups. i was just pointing out the there is an alternative. I wouldn't get a wode myself, but it may be a good option for the op who had expressed interest in a mod chip.
     
  12. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Well if he waits a few moths DIOS MIOS should be out...
     

Share This Page