1. Sonia

    OP Sonia Resident Bikini Gal
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    United States
    Hey fellow tempers, I got a new DSi today, and I was wondering if it'd be safe to use it with my Acekard 2i. It's equipped with the latest firmware from the official Acekard website, but it's set for Nintendo's DS lite. I'll have to reset that later, but anyways, I just wanna make sure my kard won't get bricked or anything bad like that.

    Edit: Just checked the version. It's 1.4.1 U.
     
  2. nl255

    nl255 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,965
    Country:
    Should be fine. The worst that will happen is that it won't work and you will have to borrow a regular DS (fat or lite) to update the Acekard to support firmware 1.4.1. To be honest, I would have gotten either a 3DS or DSi XL rather than a regular DSi at this point. A DSi XL isn't that much more expensive than a regular DSi and have better battery life and a larger screen (nice if you like games with lots of text like RPGs).
     
  3. Sonia

    OP Sonia Resident Bikini Gal
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    United States
    It is if you only have $160 bucks on hand. I spent all my money on that, and I borrowed the hundred from my brother. :'D

    But thanks a bunch. Now I'm not worried anymore. XD
     
  4. kineticUk

    kineticUk GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sure theres no reason why it shouldn't be safe. You might need to d/l the 1.4.1/3DS update if the ak2i errors on startup. I don't understand "set for dslite", I think you mean you ran the dslite 141 update... in which case there is nothing else you need to do.

    Also the DSi is nicer than the DSiXL imo. Larger screens are nice but thats it, DSi is form/function wise far nicer and the screens are large enough already. XL takes a few big steps backwards cosmetically and I do not like the finish at all or find it more comfortable to use.
     
  5. Sonia

    OP Sonia Resident Bikini Gal
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, yeah. That's what I did, definitely. [​IMG] That makes things super! Thanks a whole bunch, guys. X3

    Edit: Just tried my card in the DSi and it said that an error occurred. ._. I'm thinking that this is going to be a long night.
     
  6. dewback

    dewback GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Country:
    United States
    with that error you need to update the ak2i card with the latest one for the 1.4.1 or for the 3ds for it to work

    Also if you have issues with it freezing up from time to time. You would need to put a some paper behind the contacts. (I updated to a XL and it worked fine on a DSL but had the issue on the XL)
     
  7. Sonia

    OP Sonia Resident Bikini Gal
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, right.. Off to the Wiki I go! *Phoenix Wright Objection pose.*

    Edit: I updated it. Still gives me the error. Maybe I have the wrong one?

    Edit 2: I did have the wrong one. Doh!
     
Draft saved Draft deleted