Google Play problem :|

Discussion in 'Android' started by Dolei, Apr 6, 2012.

Apr 6, 2012

Google Play problem :| by Dolei at 5:53 AM (2,106 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Dolei
    OP

    Newcomer Dolei Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Twitter
    Country:
    New Zealand
    dun worry giuse it's k

    So basically I updated my phone (Samsung Galaxy S Captivate) to Android 4.0.4 with CyanogenMod 9, and I can't get Google Play to work now :(
    It starts to load for about as second at most then suddenly disappears, it just quits and the process ends, no force close message or anything. I have tried different so-called "modded" versions of the vendor.apk file.. but none of therm work D:
    (Also, I'm pretty new at hacking androids but with the right direction I should be able to do most things)
    Anyway yeah I don't know if it's because my phone's got a custom rom or what.. but any help would be much appreciated, thank you! ^_^
     
  2. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,798
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    I think it might be the custom ROM, as I just got to installing ICS on my Evo a few days ago and it does the same thing, well I get a FC message but it's the same thing. It doesn't really matter, though, cuz you can get alternate markets and although they may not have every APK Google Play does, you can still google the ones that aren't available and install them via SD card.
     
  3. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Reboot to CWM and flash the latest GApps. I'm not sure exactly what makes it happen, but every time you flash a new ROM you need to flash GApps with it too (edit - unless it's a stock ROM, I think).

    The latest GApps, 3/17/2012, is here: http://goo.im/gapps/...0317-signed.zip

    You don't need to wipe anything before flashing this, btw.
     
  4. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,798
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    That's what I did, yet it hasn't worked for me...maybe the file I downloaded was corrupt? Hmm...I'll try again and post back results, if it works for me it should work for Dolei as well...
     
  5. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    I had the exact problem OP described when I flashed AOKP b28 to my g-nex a few weeks ago, and I forgot to flash GApps. After flashing it it worked fine. If not, make sure your DPI is set to stock (probably 320 or 240 for most phones), then go and clear the data and cache for Google Play and try launching it after force killing it.

    (I'm still a noob at this stuff too but this is the most I can think of. After flashing a custom ROM I've never been able to get into any of the GApps without reflashing them)
     
  6. yuyuyup

    Member yuyuyup GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3,302
    Location:
    USA MTN timezone
    Country:
    United States
    Tell me, can you access data (wifi or 3g) with any apps, what about the default web browser, can it access data ?
     
  7. Zerousen

    Member Zerousen 【=◈︿◈=】

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,948
    Country:
    United States
    I often have issues with the play store similar to this. If you have not trud this yet, reboot you device, and then run the play store again. It should come up with the terms of use or s.omething, and you need you tap accept. If that still doesn't work, I suggest you wipe everything and flash the from again.
     
  8. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,798
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah flashing gapps again didn't help me, however clearing the data did. So go clear the data for the market.
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. xwatchmanx

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Haha, I was about to suggest you did that. :-p
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. Dolei
    OP

    Newcomer Dolei Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Twitter
    Country:
    New Zealand
    um...

    how? :3

    If you mean uninstalling and reinstalling google play.. i tried that =.=
     
  11. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,798
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    No, go to Settings->Apps->All->Google Play Market->Clear Data
     
  12. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    You could try clearing cache first, if that doesn't work then clear data.
     
    1 person likes this.
  13. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Gonna have to go through all this as I flash AOKP b30-toro in a few minutes XD
     
  14. Dolei
    OP

    Newcomer Dolei Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Twitter
    Country:
    New Zealand
    oh i can't believe i didn't notice that button XD

    ...still doesn't work ._. tried about a million combonations of clearing the data, clearing the cache, un/reinstalling and rebooting.. nothing works -.-
     
  15. xwatchmanx

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    I know this might sound like an insulting question, but I don't mean it that way: have you checked to make sure this isn't on the list of "known issues" for your phone's CM9?

    If not, I suggest a fresh install from scratch, no backups (except stuff like text messages and call history). You can use an app like appbak to easily redownload your apps from the playstore once you've freshly installed. I know it's a pain, but if all else fails, it's your best option (speaking as a seasoned root user currently using CM7).
     
  16. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    When you say "un/reinstalling", are you installing a Google Play APK you found, or have you actually flashed the zip of GApps I linked? If you've flashed a custom ROM, you ought to have CWM installed, so download the zip I linked from goo.im, put it in the root of your SD (just for simplicity's sake, you can stick it wherever on the SD you want though), reboot into recovery (your ROM's power menu may have an option to do so, otherwise look up the key combination for your phone), and use the volume keys to move and the power key to select the following options from it - "install zip from sdcard" -> "choose zip from sdcard" -> browse to where you put the GApps zip and select it with the power button -> scroll down to "Yes - install gapps-ics-20120317-signed.zip" and hit power again, wait for it to finish, then go back, go back,, and reboot.
     
  17. Dolei
    OP

    Newcomer Dolei Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Twitter
    Country:
    New Zealand

    trying it now~ :D

    my phone kind of died along the way but all the caches are reset and stuff which i guess is a good thing
     
  18. Dolei
    OP

    Newcomer Dolei Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Twitter
    Country:
    New Zealand
    i think it worked :D
    OMG IT DID YAYYY THANK YOU PERSON WITH RED CHOPSTICKS IN HIS MOUTH (i think they're chopsticks?)
     
    1 person likes this.
  19. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Twizzlers, my friend :P

    And you're quite welcome. Glad you got it all sorted out :yay:
     

Share This Page