Hacking Good SD formatter for Ubuntu 10.10

TNTony

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 13, 2010
Messages
33
Trophies
0
XP
6
Country
Hello, I would like to know if anybody here knows of a good way to format SD cards in Ubuntu 10.10 for M3 DS Real?
 

DSman59

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 8, 2009
Messages
44
Trophies
0
Location
Riga
Website
Visit site
XP
198
Country
I have Xubuntu 10.04 and I use GParted for formatting. First, you have to unmount your drive (e.g. SD card reader). Then open GParted, enter your password, select the correct drive and format it to FAT16 or FAT32 (for SDHC cards).
 

TNTony

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 13, 2010
Messages
33
Trophies
0
XP
6
Country
Sorry to bother again, but it appears that after formatting then putting 2.5 Sakura firmware on the sdhc, it won't load the firmware select menu or sakura.
 

DSman59

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 8, 2009
Messages
44
Trophies
0
Location
Riga
Website
Visit site
XP
198
Country
TNTony said:
Sorry to bother again, but it appears that after formatting then putting 2.5 Sakura firmware on the sdhc, it won't load the firmware select menu or sakura.
I don't know how to help you with this problem. Maybe there is a file missing. Are there any error messages showing up like "SD card not found", or does it load the firmware and then show an errror? I don't remember ever having problems like this one on my M3DS REAL, which I've had for years. I use the standard firmware (the one that is not Sakura).
 

TNTony

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 13, 2010
Messages
33
Trophies
0
XP
6
Country
A Gay Little Cat Boy said:
TNTony said:
Sorry to bother again, but it appears that after formatting then putting 2.5 Sakura firmware on the sdhc, it won't load the firmware select menu or sakura.
Did you remember to level at least 4MG of unused space?

What I did was, open GParted, click file -> devices -> my sd card, device -> unmount, format (fat32) then I put the files on it.
When I loaded it onto my M3 Real it showed the m3 ds real logo and then a black screen. It hung on the black screen and did nothing else.
 

The Catboy

GBAtemp Official Catboy™: Boys boys boys boys
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
25,985
Trophies
3
Age
31
Location
In front of my Switch
XP
29,562
Country
Antarctica
TNTony said:
A Gay Little Cat Boy said:
TNTony said:
Sorry to bother again, but it appears that after formatting then putting 2.5 Sakura firmware on the sdhc, it won't load the firmware select menu or sakura.
Did you remember to level at least 4MG of unused space?

What I did was, open GParted, click file -> devices -> my sd card, device -> unmount, format (fat32) then I put the files on it.
When I loaded it onto my M3 Real it showed the m3 ds real logo and then a black screen. It hung on the black screen and did nothing else.
You forgot a step, you need to delete the old paration, then format it to Fat32, it will do the rest for you once you add the system files, which you can get the latest from here and the M3 Real will do the rest from there
 

The Catboy

GBAtemp Official Catboy™: Boys boys boys boys
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
25,985
Trophies
3
Age
31
Location
In front of my Switch
XP
29,562
Country
Antarctica
TNTony said:
So let me get this straight, delete the old partition then format it?
Yup
happy.gif
 

TNTony

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 13, 2010
Messages
33
Trophies
0
XP
6
Country
Now I have deleted the partition, then I made a new one (*reserving 4MiB space*). Should this now work once I remount it?
 

TNTony

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 13, 2010
Messages
33
Trophies
0
XP
6
Country
A Gay Little Cat Boy said:
TNTony said:
It is still hanging, do you think it might be due to my using M3Sakura 2.5?
How strange, what microsd are you using (speed, brand, ect.)?
Also did you use the Sakura I provided?

Sandisk 4gb SDHC, don't know the speed.
I am using the sakura you provided.
 

The Catboy

GBAtemp Official Catboy™: Boys boys boys boys
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
25,985
Trophies
3
Age
31
Location
In front of my Switch
XP
29,562
Country
Antarctica
TNTony said:
A Gay Little Cat Boy said:
TNTony said:
It is still hanging, do you think it might be due to my using M3Sakura 2.5?
How strange, what microsd are you using (speed, brand, ect.)?
Also did you use the Sakura I provided?

Sandisk 4gb SDHC, don't know the speed.
I am using the sakura you provided.
Those are normally class 2, at least everyone I have seen, so that shouldn't be a problem since I use the same thing.
Try using this firmware
http://www.handheldsources.net/M3DS/Download_M3DSR.html
 

TNTony

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 13, 2010
Messages
33
Trophies
0
XP
6
Country
A Gay Little Cat Boy said:
TNTony said:
A Gay Little Cat Boy said:
TNTony said:
It is still hanging, do you think it might be due to my using M3Sakura 2.5?
How strange, what microsd are you using (speed, brand, ect.)?
Also did you use the Sakura I provided?

Sandisk 4gb SDHC, don't know the speed.
I am using the sakura you provided.
Those are normally class 2, at least everyone I have seen, so that shouldn't be a problem since I use the same thing.
Try using this firmware
http://www.handheldsources.net/M3DS/Download_M3DSR.html


Well the ones from handheldresources work, and full speed too
biggrin.gif
now I'll see if sakura from there runs too or if it's just touchpod.
Thanks so much
smile.gif
I think I might buy an acekard, or supercard or something, this m3 is getting a bit past it.
 

The Catboy

GBAtemp Official Catboy™: Boys boys boys boys
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
25,985
Trophies
3
Age
31
Location
In front of my Switch
XP
29,562
Country
Antarctica
TNTony said:
A Gay Little Cat Boy said:
TNTony said:
A Gay Little Cat Boy said:
TNTony said:
It is still hanging, do you think it might be due to my using M3Sakura 2.5?
How strange, what microsd are you using (speed, brand, ect.)?
Also did you use the Sakura I provided?

Sandisk 4gb SDHC, don't know the speed.
I am using the sakura you provided.
Those are normally class 2, at least everyone I have seen, so that shouldn't be a problem since I use the same thing.
Try using this firmware
http://www.handheldsources.net/M3DS/Download_M3DSR.html


Well the ones from handheldresources work, and full speed too
biggrin.gif
now I'll see if sakura from there runs too or if it's just touchpod.
Thanks so much
smile.gif
I think I might buy an acekard, or supercard or something, this m3 is getting a bit past it.
I would advice getting and Acekard, it's just the better card really.

Also I think there might be a problem in my system file, so I will go address that now.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Years gone by so quick