GBC Hacking

NEO Ness

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I want to hack a Game Boy Color game that isn't a Pokemon game. All the tools that I've found are Pokemon Game tools. Does anyone know of any tools for text changes? In the game I will be changing Japanese text to English text. I'm a new hacker so I'm flying blind.

Any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. :lol:

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Reactions: JakobAir and SLiV3R

NEO Ness

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Thank you for the links and information. I'm still new to all this so it's still a bit confusing, but I think I'm a little closer to solving my problem. There's a program called Poke Text for Pokemon games. How hard would it be to make that compatible with a different game? I'm no programmer, but would the task be too difficult to ask for help?

Making these tools seem to be my brick wall...

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Text can be represented in a variety of ways in games, pokemon usually taking a slightly harder approach to things than many of its contemporary games on a platform. If you have the source code to one of the pokemon tools it could be a 30 second fix (in this game the text starts at ???? where in the pokemon game it is YYYY and the tool works accordingly), it could be so different as to not be worth altering the program or it could be somewhere in the middle.

You do not need to make tools of equivalent potency though -- figure out how the text is stored, make a table and you can often edit directly in the ROM or use tools like Cartographer to dump the script and atlas to put it back in and sort pointers.

NEO Ness

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States