GBAtemp Island

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Law, Apr 21, 2010.

Apr 21, 2010

GBAtemp Island by Law at 4:22 PM (1,623 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Law
    OP

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Welcome to GBAtemp Island
    [​IMG]

    GBAtemp Island was once prosperous and filled with tempers, however one day they all just vanished without a trace. Some blame natural disaster, others blame alien life; but it matters not what led to their demise, what matters is rebuilding.

    What is this?
    A custom SimCity 4 region based off an image of GBAtemp's mascot.

    Okay, but why the thread?
    Nothing really goes on here at the temp these days, not much that gets the community involved anyway. Mostly it seems random discussion and tempers seem to be drifting further apart from each other, so I figured this might be a good way to get people together (actually blame TrolleyDave since he thinks the thread is a good idea). Together we can fill GBAtemp Island with cities.

    How do I help build a city?
    The region map above shows all of the usable plots, so you simply have to pick one, call dibs on it (save the image, put a red X on the plot you want, post it in the thread), then download the region pack and extract it into My Documents\SimCity 4\Regions and start playing it. Once you feel that you've built it up as much as you can, go into the regions folder and find the file (.sc4), upload it and post a link in the thread (or PM me since I might miss it), I'll then download it and import it onto the island (I'll probably also update the main post with a "current look" of the island every time somebody sends me a city). If after you've sent it you decide to work on it a bit more to improve it, just send me the updated version once you're done.

    I don't have/can't play SimCity 4, can I still have a city?
    Sure, just give me a few details (Name, Mayor Name, perhaps a few details on how you want the city to be ran/laid out, and what plot you want) and I'll see what I can do in my spare time.

    There seems to be a lot of water on that map, is there enough room for cities on those medium plots that are more than 50% water?
    Absolutely; and if you feel that you need more space (or think that you'll need more space) after picking a plot that has a majority of water, just put an island somewhere in the water with the terraforming tools before naming the city.

    What about those 100% water maps?
    If you feel like playing one of those, again just make an island using the terraforming tools

    Rules
    I'm not great at SimCity 4, and I don't expect anybody participating to be either, however one of the main things I want to stress is that if you feel as though you won't be able to put enough time into the large plots, PLEASE DO NOT CHOOSE ONE. I'm expecting skyscrapers from those, plus I'd rather those be named after Staff Members. (I may also only allow people I trust to play the large plots, lets see how it goes first though)

    I'm also planning for all the cities to be connected together, so please leave some room around the borders of your city (four or five squares should be enough).

    I'm running the Deluxe version of the game (SimCity 4 + Rush Hour expansion), so that should probably be the version you get if you plan on playing.

    Chances are that this'll be a pretty bumpy ride at first, honestly I'm expecting it to bomb (at which point I'll rub it in TrolleyDave's face) so I dunno, surprise me GBAtemp.

    Region Download: GBAtemp.zip
     
  2. scrtmstr

    Member scrtmstr GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    the Netherregions!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    hmm this might be intresting [​IMG]
    i'll download this once i'm back from my holiday, and once i've installed sim city 4 again.
    but i've got the normal sim city 4, not the expansion pack, is that a big problem you think?
     
  3. Law
    OP

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I doubt it'd be much of a problem, I suppose the only way to tell would be to try.
     
  4. Ace

    Member Ace GBATemp's Patrick Bateman

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,035
    Location:
    Manhattan
    Country:
    Sweden
    [​IMG]
    I call it La Fe (The Faith in english), and I declare it the capital of GBAtemp Island! Sign me up!
     
  5. xangelinax

    Newcomer xangelinax Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    in imagination land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I thought this was Sims 3 Create a World tool.
     
  6. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Does anyone mind if I turn one of the water plots into the [​IMG] face? I used to be good with the teraforming... just that I suck at the actual city building.

    Edit: Shit I cant find the regular CD, I found the Rush Hour one though.
     
  7. Danny600kill

    Member Danny600kill xD

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,664
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry but the capital must be called Costeland
     
  8. Ace

    Member Ace GBATemp's Patrick Bateman

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,035
    Location:
    Manhattan
    Country:
    Sweden
    I call it La Fe to make a pun the capital of Bolivia called La Paz (literally The Peace).
     
  9. Law
    OP

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    every city can be a capital city, because each one is as important as the other.

    and I mean its not like you can assign a capital attribute to a city anyway, so it pretty much works that way anyway
     
  10. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Looks good.
    I'll download it and try it out.
     
  11. zuron7

    Member zuron7 RBYG

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,369
    Location:
    GPS not available in this area
    Country:
    India
    Whatever happend to Htel GBAtemp?
     

Share This Page