1. renegade2k82

    OP renegade2k82 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    United States
    how do i change the region of a gba save?I have a euro save that wont work on my usa copy so i heard you can use a hex editor to change the bytes for the game id but i dont know how i do that.i know the game id for the euro and usa version and i want to change it from the euro game id to the usa one.please help thanks.
     
  2. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,910
    Country:
    United States
    Why not get the eur rom?
     
    slaphappygamer likes this.
  3. FAST6191

    FAST6191 Techromancer
    Reporter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    33,123
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No need to make so many threads.

    Anyway region conversion for saves is ever the fun topic.

    The GBA has no overarching save format like some later systems where you might have user profiles and whatnot. Basically all random data however the devs chose to do it.


    Sometimes they will work just by renaming the file.

    Sometimes they might have a minor difference, I can see some kind of indicator/ID value being a thing but I have not seen it in the wild. Granted most people either restart a game, use cheats or use the other region's ROM so I don't imagine it comes up very often (we used to see it more on the DS when things would come out in Japan early and everybody and their donkey would have flash carts to play with).
    Mind you the start value of many saves is some kind of serial (need not be the same serial as the header though) and I guess a game could check to see if it matches there first of all. Might not even include it in the checksum. You might try copying the first however* many bytes of a game and seeing if that counts.

    *how many is the big question. It could be between 2 and 200 though likely on the shorter end. Without delving into the game code I would likely start two games, if it is the sort of game that allows you to select a character (thinking something like pokemon where you have a choice of sex, name, avatar...), save as soon as possible and compare, and compare against a far later save, and compare against a same options and soon as possible save between regions. Not flawless but seeing what is common in those is likely a good bet for a candidate here.


    Sometimes the differences might be more fiddly. For instance Japanese games might use a different text format and thus need any user names changed, and presumably a way to bypass any checksums/hashes the game does for the save (either learn the method it uses for that game or hack the game to ignore it).

    Other times the differences are radical (sections different sizes, different locations, different order, extra data...), or radical enough that the 30 hours you spend figuring out the format (other than extra data all the previous stuff is 10 seconds with a slow program to sort once you know what things went where and how they changed) is still less than the time to replay to the point you were at.
     
  4. renegade2k82

    OP renegade2k82 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    United States
    Wow sounds like alot of work just to change the region.in response to you shadow I just rather use the USA rom and thats what I'm used to if it is possible I rather just convert the save.i know I could just use the euro rom and not worry about messing with the save but my preference is just USA roms.
     
  5. renegade2k82

    OP renegade2k82 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone know how to change the region?
     
  6. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    17,400
    Country:
    United States
    it may be possible with hexing. I fixed someone's save region iirc, but I can't recall if it was gba or ds.
     
  7. FAST6191

    FAST6191 Techromancer
    Reporter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    33,123
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sometimes it is not much work, however as every dev was left up to their own devices to design and implement what they wanted as far as saving with no help from the system or SDK that I have seen then you have to take it on a game by game basis. It is not like on later systems where the saves are put inside a wrapper format and associated strictly with a specific game version but still using the same format that you might be able to trick if you have nice hacks that can inject other saves (granted said later systems also potentially have all the same problems as mentioned above with different encoded data, different layouts and whatever else). Most of the time the localisation teams have little reason to change the save formats so it can be simpler, or even just worth renaming the file and injecting, but you are never going to get a "works for 80% of games, just do this simple trick" type deal when a simple rename and inject fails.
    If you fancy becoming something of a hacker then you can more readily knock things out; save editing is on the easier side of things there, however it is still a skill.

    Game wise then for the GBA it can be worth checking out the European efforts. They quite often got extra bug fixes, maybe dodged some censorship and more besides. English wise then 99 times of 100 they also just copy-pasted the US effort and the 1 out of 100 they did not then usually got a better translation as well. French and Spanish can be a different game, usually better but will be continental versions of the language rather than the local versions.

    Do make sure to wander by somewhere like http://www.romhacking.net/?page=hac...e=20&order=&dir=&title=&author=&hacksearch=Go as well. Also a reason many will opt to use the European versions there where nobody really makes anything for the PAL regions on other systems.
     
  8. renegade2k82

    OP renegade2k82 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    United States
    well i tried using the save with the euro rom tried loading it after saving it as .srm file from note pad for retroarch and it still acts like the save is blank.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted