1. KVPrasad

    OP KVPrasad Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Fiji
    Putting this here as it deals with Luma 3ds and something other CFW's may or may not be interested in.

    My current setup is a O3dsXL with a9LH and Luma 3ds cfw. Simple question:

    I have a blue Card Gateway and normal Gateway as well. What are my options on playing GBA games on my CFW or Blue Card. Which has better performance. The Game in question is a rom hack of Pokemon Fire Red. I only have access to a Mac not a PC.
     
  2. Monty Kensicle

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,233
    Country:
    United States
    VC inject is the only way to go on o3DS.
     
  3. MattKimura

    MattKimura 3DS & WiiU Enthusiast
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2,129
    Country:
    United States
    If using A9LH and sysnand only, all you gotta do is install the GBA Virtual Console cia's one time and you can play them. That's the advantage of using A9LH, and your only choice for GBA games.

    As for the Gateway blue card, it cannot play GBA games as far as I'm aware, no matter what 3DS you play it on. The card itself can't handle GBA emulation on it's own.

    I believe I saw some rom hacks of Fire Red, as virtual console injects somewhere
     
    Last edited by MattKimura, Apr 28, 2016
  4. KVPrasad

    OP KVPrasad Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Fiji
    Thanks for the info guys, gonna go look for virtual console injects now
     
  5. BabyBichu

    BabyBichu GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    198
    Country:
    United States
    VC or emulator or both.
    For ex(about VC),I wanna play yellow.So I downloaded the legit CIA of Pokemon Yellow[ U ] from 3DSISO.Then I'll be able to play it.
    Highly recommand legit CIAs,if u rn't able 2 play the game,just go to the eshop to redownload it to fix the problem.It's as if u've bought it before!
     
  6. 03bgood

    03bgood Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    880
    Country:
    United States
    I can't get any GBA games to work via Luma3DS. I installed one of them (.cia) and when I launch it, the "error has occurred" screen comes up on the bottom screen.
     
  7. KVPrasad

    OP KVPrasad Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Fiji
    well tbh I followed the VC Inject tutorial and it works fine
     
  8. DjoeN

    DjoeN Captain Haddock!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    5,490
    Country:
    Belgium
    Just a quick note:
    I would remove the name of that site.
     
    josamilu and Deleted-379826 like this.
  9. nickwhit

    nickwhit GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    349
    Country:
    United States
    If you have emuNAND and are trying to boot from there, you must also install to sysNAND before itll work.
    If youre using A9LH patched sysNAND, look in "luma" folder and try removing these files (if they exist)

    firmware_agb.bin
    firmware_twl.bin
    patched_firmware_agb.bin
    patched_firmware_emu.bin
    patched_firmware_sys.bin
    patched_firmware_twl.bin

    Also, if using a boot manager, try removing that as well.
     
    Last edited by nickwhit, May 20, 2016
    Thelostrune likes this.
  10. 03bgood

    03bgood Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    880
    Country:
    United States
    How do I do this? I also want to know how I can power on my 3DS into Luma without using Ninjhax.

    I hold the L button but it only takes me to the 3DS menu and I must go into Ninjhax and then launch Luma, which reboots my 3DS and allows me to install and run CIA files. I have like 16 GB games, 12 GBC games, and 50 NES games. I really would love to get GBA, GG, TG-16, and GEN (3D Classics) games on there as well. Are SNES games patched to run on o3DS systems? I know you can only download them on the n3DS, but do the CIA files install and work on the o3DS? I wanna play ActRaiser and Soul Blazer so bad! I already updated my n3DS to 11.0 when I bought Contra III last week, so I can't run homebrew on 11.0. That's why I used my o3DS to downgrade from 10.2 to 9.2, so I could install CIA files.
     
    Last edited by 03bgood, May 23, 2016
  11. nickwhit

    nickwhit GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    349
    Country:
    United States
    Google or search here for "menuhax".. and "Ctrlbootmanager9". Those will get you a cold boot into CFW.
    To install to sysNAND (to make GBA work on emuNAND) you must enter "rxMode sysNAND" or use "Pasta" and boot directly into sysNAND.

    Better yet... no. Scratch all that. Go here, or go home: https://github.com/Plailect/Guide/wiki
     
  12. 03bgood

    03bgood Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    880
    Country:
    United States
    When I run the Homebrew Launcher via Ninjhax and select Menuhax, it says the AM service in inaccessible. I'm just so sick of using Ninjhax and want to boot into Luma by holding the L button on 3DS start up.
     
  13. nickwhit

    nickwhit GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    349
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so do like I said and follow that guide, and you wont have to press anything but the power button to make Luma boot up.
     
  14. 03bgood

    03bgood Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    880
    Country:
    United States
    Eh, it's misleading.
     
  15. nickwhit

    nickwhit GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    349
    Country:
    United States
    Misleading, how?
    You mean tl;dr?
     
  16. 03bgood

    03bgood Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    880
    Country:
    United States
    I have no idea what to do. My o3DS is at 9.2 and I want to boot into Luma without using Ninjhax, is that possible on 9.2?

    After returning from the System Settings, it cannot launch CIA games anymore unless I use Luma again via Ninjhax.

    I did away with Pasta because I encountered the "Error has occurred" like 7/10 times when launching a CIA VC game.
     
    Last edited by 03bgood, May 23, 2016
  17. emuashui

    emuashui GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    Hong Kong
  18. SushiKing

    SushiKing GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    553
    Country:
    Australia
    May i ask but what is the bluecard good for anyway??
     
  19. Monty Kensicle

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,233
    Country:
    United States
    Blue card? That's Gateway is it not? It was included to inject the mset payload into 4.5 systems but now I use mine as a DS flash cart.
     
  20. SushiKing

    SushiKing GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    553
    Country:
    Australia
    On the 3DS???
     
Draft saved Draft deleted