GBA games on r4i sdhc??

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by demoon42, Jul 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Jul 15, 2009

GBA games on r4i sdhc?? by demoon42 at 7:14 PM (25,089 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. demoon42
    OP

    Newcomer demoon42 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hello i got an r4i sdhc.. i wanna play gba games on it.. but is that possible??
     
  2. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, you just need to modify the R4i so it can unencrypt the GBA rom, this can be done by placing it in a microwave on full power for 5 minutes.
     
  3. demoon42
    OP

    Newcomer demoon42 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Netherlands
    cmon a normal answer.
     
  4. Ryukouki

    Member Ryukouki See you later, guys.

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,949
    Country:
    United States
    No Law, that is incorrect. You need to put it in a toaster set to Dark setting and then take out after exactly four minutes and 30 seconds. It has to be exact otherwise your thing risks not working anymore. But seriously demoon42, if you really want GBA games that bad, you can try my method, which guarantees the result but must be very precise, or you can try Law's. Either way, its your choice.
     
  5. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Whoops my mistake, I must have been thinking about the original non-sdhc and non-DSi R4.
     
  6. Hachibei

    Member Hachibei GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    461
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Can't do it with just an R4i.
     
  7. Ryukouki

    Member Ryukouki See you later, guys.

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,949
    Country:
    United States
    Cmon that is a normal answer. Oh cool, I just heard this thing and it says you have to solder a wire thing together and then try not to blow the fuse thing. If you can solder really well, try this method.

    Posts merged

    Hachibei you can actually. Try this soldering method.
     
  8. Technik

    Member Technik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    Which you cant use on an r4I = dsI
     
  9. emigre

    Member emigre Has complex motives

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,918
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To be frank, you could have divine intervention and you still wouldn't be able to play GBA games with a R4i sdhc.

    The honest truth.
     
  10. Ryukouki

    Member Ryukouki See you later, guys.

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,949
    Country:
    United States
    What the hell are you talking about? u actually can! I devised a way to be able to do this. I first opened up my R4(i) and then I removed the chip part. I had to precisely cut a part of it precisely 2.5mm from the edge of the card with a very special pair of pliers, then I took my soldering iron and I briefly tapped the black part of my R4i. Smoke has to rise if you want to know if you are doing it right. I used tools to remove the GBA slot in my DS Lite, modded it with a similar method, then I put it back in.
     
  11. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need a slot 2 device, you cannot play GBA roms on a slot-1...damn being a mod is boring, have to behave for fuck sake.

    And now time to go Toni Plutonij on this thread.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page