GBA Adaptor for DSi/3DS

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by EnigmaXtreme, Mar 31, 2011.

Mar 31, 2011

GBA Adaptor for DSi/3DS by EnigmaXtreme at 7:25 AM (13,612 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. EnigmaXtreme
    OP

    Member EnigmaXtreme GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,340
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Is there anyway to play GBA cartridges on a DSi/3DS like an adaptor or something?
     
  2. Omega_2

    Member Omega_2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Country:
    Antarctica
    of course not.
    You're talking restoring a function not present since the DSLite, and no amount of hacking would allow it.
    And if there were a way, you'd have to open it up and solder wires.

    You can try the DSTWO for gba emulation, but it's not perfect yet.
     
  3. Ben_j

    Member Ben_j GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    696
    Country:
    France
    facepalm
     
  4. EnigmaXtreme
    OP

    Member EnigmaXtreme GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,340
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Just curious, looks like ill just buy a DSlite then....
     
  5. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
  6. CrispyYoshi

    Member CrispyYoshi GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,466
    Country:
    United States
    What are you talking about? Of course it's possible.

    It doesn't exist because no coder actually wants to bother to recode an entire GBA engine when you can just get another system. It's not worth the effort.
     
  7. ultimatt42

    Newcomer ultimatt42 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    All the emulation work is already done as there are plenty of open source GBA emulators already out there. The hard part is optimizing it to work with the meager resources of the Nintendo DS. If we could make DSi homebrew I'm sure we'd have a GBA emulator already since the faster CPU and extra RAM would give you a lot more breathing room. Once the 3DS is open for homebrew, I bet we'll get some nice GBA emulators. Probably PSX and N64, too.
     
  8. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    we can, we have one, it's not usable
     
  9. ultimatt42

    Newcomer ultimatt42 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
  10. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    you can glue a NDSL to tthe bottom of your 3DS and call it an addon.
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
    Shawn ShyGuy likes this.
  11. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    Get an SCDS2 and use it on the 3DS.

    Insta-GBA!
     
  12. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    YES! I am SO doing that.
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
     
  14. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Well until they start making a GOC (GBA On a Chip) like they do with the NOC (NES On a Chip) solution, we won't find anything useful really meaningful to use.
     
  15. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    To sum up this thread...

    No there is no way to hook up GBA games to 3DS directly and there never will be.
     

Share This Page