1. EnigmaXtreme

    OP EnigmaXtreme GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Country:
    Is there anyway to play GBA cartridges on a DSi/3DS like an adaptor or something?
     
  2. Omega_2

    Omega_2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Country:
    United States
    of course not.
    You're talking restoring a function not present since the DSLite, and no amount of hacking would allow it.
    And if there were a way, you'd have to open it up and solder wires.

    You can try the DSTWO for gba emulation, but it's not perfect yet.
     
  3. Ben_j

    Ben_j GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    696
    Country:
    France
  4. EnigmaXtreme

    OP EnigmaXtreme GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Country:
    Just curious, looks like ill just buy a DSlite then....
     
  5. rockstar99

    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,372
    Country:
    Canada
  6. CrispyYoshi

    CrispyYoshi GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,539
    Country:
    United States
    What are you talking about? Of course it's possible.

    It doesn't exist because no coder actually wants to bother to recode an entire GBA engine when you can just get another system. It's not worth the effort.
     
  7. ultimatt42

    ultimatt42 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    All the emulation work is already done as there are plenty of open source GBA emulators already out there. The hard part is optimizing it to work with the meager resources of the Nintendo DS. If we could make DSi homebrew I'm sure we'd have a GBA emulator already since the faster CPU and extra RAM would give you a lot more breathing room. Once the 3DS is open for homebrew, I bet we'll get some nice GBA emulators. Probably PSX and N64, too.
     
  8. mercluke

    mercluke ‮҉
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,163
    Country:
    we can, we have one, it's not usable
     
  9. ultimatt42

    ultimatt42 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
  10. how_do_i_do_that

    how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,124
    Country:
    Antarctica
    you can glue a NDSL to tthe bottom of your 3DS and call it an addon.
    [​IMG]
     
    Shawn ShyGuy likes this.
  11. Slyakin

    Slyakin See ya suckers
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Country:
    United States
    Get an SCDS2 and use it on the 3DS.

    Insta-GBA!
     
  12. Schlupi

    Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Country:
    United States
    YES! I am SO doing that.
     
  13. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
     
  14. how_do_i_do_that

    how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,124
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Well until they start making a GOC (GBA On a Chip) like they do with the NOC (NES On a Chip) solution, we won't find anything useful really meaningful to use.
     
  15. koji2009

    koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    To sum up this thread...

    No there is no way to hook up GBA games to 3DS directly and there never will be.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Adaptor,