Hacking Gateway card useless?

shulkmad

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 6, 2020
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
120
Country
Russia
I have Gateway red and blue card from a few years ago. Can you still do anything with them or are they useless now?
 

realtimesave

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 19, 2020
Messages
262
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
329
Country
United States
You can use it to play *.3ds files as long as your 3ds console has the right version of firmware that is compatible with the Gateway 3ds. I have my "New" 3DS XL set up so it can use both the Gateway 3ds and *.CIA roms. I haven't messed with this stuff in ages though so I don't remember the specifics. But yeah it's basically for running encrypted ROM files and almost nobody uses it any more.
 

swutch

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
59
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
804
Country
Austria
The red one is useless, but the blue card can be used as an nsd flash card, like the a R4 Card. Just put acecard firmware files on the sdcard and roms.
 

snoofly

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2015
Messages
1,013
Trophies
0
Age
52
XP
2,081
Country
United Kingdom
Bin the red one.
But the blue one, I use it with a 400Gb SD to hold the 6600+ DS games and each one I’ve tried runs perfectly on my 3DS
 

leon315

POWERLIFTER
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
3,976
Trophies
1
Age
122
XP
3,641
Country
Italy
pretty much useless, im sure some people probably still use them as they cba transferring all their saves and stuff, but the GW firmware hasn't been updated in a long time


errrr I mean, they are super useful, who wants to buy mine :P
HOLY SHIT, I HAVE ONE TOO! i will giveaway for 10 bucks :P

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

is there a way remove gateway software from your 3ds?
sorry to ask.
GW has their own partition on ur sd card all software are installed on SD card
 
  • Like
Reactions: djavs

djavs

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 6, 2007
Messages
93
Trophies
0
XP
360
Country
HOLY SHIT, I HAVE ONE TOO! i will giveaway for 10 bucks :P

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


GW has their own partition on ur sd card all software are installed on SD card
oh brill so just format the card right?

Finally i keep reading about bootstrap vs LUMA 3ds which is best? especially to avoid ban. My steps son want the 3ds so i wanted to get guidance from here. So many guides am so confused... am usually follow videos online
 

swutch

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
59
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
804
Country
Austria
oh brill so just format the card right?

Finally i keep reading about bootstrap vs LUMA 3ds which is best? especially to avoid ban. My steps son want the 3ds so i wanted to get guidance from here. So many guides am so confused... am usually follow videos online

you need both, here is a link to a good guide -> https://3ds.hacks.guide/ntrboot
have fun ;)
 
Last edited by swutch,
  • Like
Reactions: djavs

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,720
Trophies
2
XP
17,433
Country
United States
oh brill so just format the card right?

Finally i keep reading about bootstrap vs LUMA 3ds which is best? especially to avoid ban. My steps son want the 3ds so i wanted to get guidance from here. So many guides am so confused... am usually follow videos online
You have a lot of options for installing B9S and Luma3DS. If you don't want to buy a compatible flashcart for ntrboot (if your blue Gateway doesn't work), there are free options here:
https://3ds.hacks.guide/get-started

Pick an exploit that comports with your system version (or the all versions row). Seedminer is recommended, since it's free and works on the latest version (if you are also on the latest version).
 
Last edited by Lacius,

djavs

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 6, 2007
Messages
93
Trophies
0
XP
360
Country
You have a lot of options for installing B9S and Luma3DS. If you don't want to buy a compatible flashcart for ntrboot (if your blue Gateway doesn't work), there are free options here:
https://3ds.hacks.guide/get-started

Pick an exploit that comports with your system version (or the all versions row). Seedminer is recommended, since it's free and works on the latest version (if you are also on the latest version).

i got the gateway blue card :-) but am on firmware - 4.5.0-10E . It says
  • The latest release of pre9otherapp (the .bin file corresponding to your firmware version) ..... but can not see the bin for my firmware :-( sorry being slow here. AND THANK YOU SO SO MUCH
 

tatumanu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2004
Messages
614
Trophies
0
XP
1,913
Country
Portugal
I still use it, mainly because I have one + an unused copy of it.
I have an unlinked, offline, emuNAND at the last supported Gateway CFW.

I use my sysNAND with B9S Luma 3DS for games I truly care about.

Gateway is there just as an extra SD slot and a way to play stuff I don't want populating on my sysNAND or don't care installing. I still find it handy but not something I use most times.
 

Dust2dust

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
1,771
Trophies
1
XP
2,812
Country
Canada
i got the gateway blue card :-) but am on firmware - 4.5.0-10E . It says
  • The latest release of pre9otherapp (the .bin file corresponding to your firmware version) ..... but can not see the bin for my firmware :-( sorry being slow here. AND THANK YOU SO SO MUCH
It's called pre9otherapp. Your firmware is 4, so you're good to go. Just use that bin file.
 
  • Like
Reactions: djavs

djnate27

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
182
Trophies
0
XP
1,334
Country
United States
Never needed Luma. My Gateway Card runs everything I've ever wanted to play plus it's the best way to utilize cheats.
 

djavs

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 6, 2007
Messages
93
Trophies
0
XP
360
Country
It's called pre9otherapp. Your firmware is 4, so you're good to go. Just use that bin file.
so much love for your guys support WISH ME LUCK

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

3 red cards still going strong here. So nice being able to switch game sets on my kids 3ds units in seconds rather then hours.

can you also DM ME the info as backup please as on a lower firmeware
 
Last edited by djavs,

crimpshrine

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2014
Messages
594
Trophies
0
XP
1,146
Country
United States
can you also DM ME the info as backup please as on a lower firmeware

Not sure what you are asking for. If you are asking me to tell you how to set it up on your unit, you will have to search for what you need to do. I have not touched my setups in around 2 years. They just work. If I recall correctly they are all setup with bootCTR9 and they boot into GW by default and Luma with another button. It's been 2 years since I went through the process to get them running in their current state, so sorry can't tell you steps at this point. Never use Luma anymore I just have a set of SD cards I can swap out between their units in seconds that have all the 3ds games on them. I originally did try using Luma to do more with their setups, but when you are loading games on multiple units and switching game sets when they get bored with them, using CIA's takes forever to copy games over, it's way too cumbersome compared to just swapping a micro sd card.
 
  • Like
Reactions: djavs
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    NoobletCheese @ NoobletCheese: Hi Ramesh, please join our weird puddle.