Game's will not save right

Discussion in 'EDGE' started by eliwood440, Feb 9, 2011.

Feb 9, 2011

Game's will not save right by eliwood440 at 8:26 PM (2,049 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. eliwood440
    OP

    Newcomer eliwood440 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    My EDGE has been doing this for a while now, some games just will not save, like they'll just be stuck at the save screen,
    with things still moving in the background sometimes, anyone else ever had this problem?
     
  2. bejiman

    Member bejiman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Country:
    Philippines
    Nope, not me. Are you using the latest firmware? What games are you having trouble with? Maybe you should reformat your card.
     
  3. eliwood440
    OP

    Newcomer eliwood440 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Using 2.1, and I format it every month.

    The games Im having trouble with are mostly RPG's, more specifically Pokemon games, Final Fantasy, and most any game where its wise to save repeatedly.
     
  4. eliwood440
    OP

    Newcomer eliwood440 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Gee, you guys are real helpful.
     
  5. moodswinger

    Member moodswinger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Philippines
    Well maybe because you're not telling us that much. Like what's the class of your memory card?
     
  6. eliwood440
    OP

    Newcomer eliwood440 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Its a Sandisk 8gig Micro SD, nothing special.
     
  7. spangus

    Newcomer spangus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is a limit to the number of roms you can add using the Edge card, and then it stops displaying any new ones in the menu screen. Total guess and probably not right but could there also be a limit to the number of saves you can have on the SD card? Like I said that's probably total crap.

    Anyway, does it do it every time you save? If you delete the .sav file and then try saving a new game does it work and then not work the next time you try to save or is it every time you do it? It's not something really simple like the SD card is full without you realizing?

    What you could try is see if you have another SD card, maybe in your phone or somewhere, and back it up and try that, just to see if it will work on that. If it does it's probably a problem with your current SD card. I have to say when I had problems with an old SD card the games just froze up, they didn't carry on moving in the background, so it's a bit of a weird problem.

    Sorry if these ideas are a bit obvious.
     
  8. Kadano

    Newcomer Kadano Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Austria
    I have the same problem, OP. It happens to me pretty often and seems random, although I think that it's more likely if I've been playing without saving for a long time.

    I only play RPGs, and it happened to me with 3 different versions of EDGE DS on a DS Lite.
    I think it's probably a SD-card issue, but it would be really great if someone who has knowledge about this could clear this up.

    EDIT: 8 GB Sandisk, full format just a few days ago, only ~ 6 games, all in /GAMES/ folder.
     
  9. vandawn

    Member vandawn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    Greece
    first time i heard of it
    well i am using a 4gb memory
    on the other hand i have maxed out the capacity of the memory
    but i could save just fine
    dunno maybe your memory doesnt have enough space to create a new save file
     
  10. eliwood440
    OP

    Newcomer eliwood440 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Still having this same issue, just get stuck on just about any games loading screen, tried Rune Factory 3 yesterday.
     
  11. anton123

    Newcomer anton123 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know... never came across this problem. Maybe you should try a different microSD.
     
  12. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    pretty big gap of time that you bumped
     
  13. eliwood440
    OP

    Newcomer eliwood440 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Whoop de frickin do? Who cares if I bumped it, still having the problem.
     
    1 person likes this.
  14. Kadano

    Newcomer Kadano Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Austria
    I also still have this problem. I will try another SD card and see if that helps.
     

Share This Page