Gamecube roms on 3ds

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by [demon], Apr 14, 2013.

Apr 14, 2013

Gamecube roms on 3ds by [demon] at 11:46 PM (16,424 Views / 0 Likes) 92 replies

  1. [demon]
    OP

    Newcomer [demon] Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Can it be done? if so how? i'm specifically hoping to run Wind Waker. Is there a way to run it through a flash cart?
     
  2. nukeboy95
    This message by nukeboy95 has been removed from public view by Depravo, Apr 15, 2013, Reason: Useless. Dep.
    Apr 14, 2013
  3. Flame
    This message by Flame has been removed from public view by Depravo, Apr 15, 2013, Reason: Useless. Dep.
    Apr 14, 2013
  4. [demon]
    This message by [demon] has been removed from public view by Depravo, Apr 15, 2013, Reason: Useless. Dep.
    Apr 14, 2013
  5. GamerzHell9137
    This message by GamerzHell9137 has been removed from public view by Depravo, Apr 15, 2013, Reason: Useless. Dep.
    Apr 14, 2013


  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Flash carts run things in DS-mode, meaning only with the power of the original DS, which is far too weak to emulate GC games.

    Even when the 3DS's full power is unlocked though, I highly doubt there will ever be a GC emulator for it. Even a lower-end Core 2 Duo on the PC with a comparable GPU to the 3DS will struggle with many GC games.
     
  7. [demon]
    This message by [demon] has been removed from public view by Depravo, Apr 15, 2013, Reason: Useless. Dep.
    Apr 14, 2013
  8. Gnargle
    This message by Gnargle has been removed from public view by Depravo, Apr 15, 2013, Reason: Useless. Dep.
    Apr 14, 2013
  9. wolf-snake
    This message by wolf-snake has been removed from public view by Depravo, Apr 15, 2013, Reason: Useless. Dep.
    Apr 15, 2013
  10. Clarky
    This message by Clarky has been removed from public view by Depravo, Apr 15, 2013, Reason: Useless. Dep.
    Apr 15, 2013
  11. djricekcn

    Member djricekcn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    Gamecube will probably not work due to the power of the 3DS itself, it'll probably even be hard for the Vita as well.
     
  12. Deltaechoe

    Member Deltaechoe The Dopefish

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    509
    Country:
    United States
    Almost certainly not going to happen, there is like a .1% chance that everything will align for someone to make a perfectly optimized emulator to run GC games on a 3ds
     
    SuzieJoeBob likes this.
  13. DaniPoo

    Member DaniPoo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    290
    Country:
    Sweden
    You can only hope tack Nintendo get inspired by Capcom's Monster Hunter 3U and decides to release the remastered Wind Waker for both Wii U and 3DS.
    As if Nintendo would ever get inspired by someone else Haha
     
  14. Lube_Skyballer

    Member Lube_Skyballer GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    372
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Nintendo only gets inspired by money and casual gaming and more money
     
    totalnoob617 and BAHIM Z 360 like this.
  15. Skelletonike

    Member Skelletonike ♂ ♥ Gallant Pervert ♥ ♀

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,831
    Location:
    Steam City
    Country:
    Portugal
    Why wouldn't a company whose purpose is pretty much to earn money, be inspired to get money?
    Companies like Nintendo, Sony and Microsoft will do whatever will sell the most, why do you think they all went into casual markets with Wii Mote, Kinect and the PS Move?
    Or why there are even hundreds of yearly sport games like PES, Fifa, CoD, etc?
    It's because people buy them, and that's all that matters.
     
  16. nukeboy95

    Member nukeboy95 Leave luck to heaven.

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,273
    Location:
    not sure
    Country:
    United States
    ps the gamecube uses iso not roms
     
    Skelletonike likes this.
  17. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    actually rom would be much more correct

    the GC disks are actually read only memory

    but there is no iso(9660) in GC disks
    iso9660 is the filesystem commonly used in PC CD-ROMs
    other systems like the gc/wii/xbox ... don't use it
     
    McHaggis, raulpica and Friendsxix like this.
  18. Count Duckula

    Member Count Duckula .

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    559
    Country:
    Australia
    The only way we're going to play wind waker on the 3ds is if Nintendo port the game, so it is running natively on the 3ds hardware. Even then it would be a bit of a stretch and would likely require some compromises.

    As Rydian said, flash carts can only run games in DS mode. The games run directly as if they were on a real DS cartridge so they play at full speed.

    Emulators can be written for the DS to play games from older platforms, but to emulate a gamecube game you need a platform significantly more powerful than the 3DS.
    Even 16 bit era consoles (Genesis/SNES) are not emulated at full speed for all games on the DS.
     
  19. chocoboner

    Newcomer chocoboner VILLAIN

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    brain city
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yeah, you're right. although I wonder how good an emulator could be in theory if Nintendo themselves were to make one, with all their technical knowledge. thinking like what Sony did for PSX support on the PSP. (although there's no reason to think that Nintendo is interested in doing this.)

    on that note, I wonder what the limit would be for the 3DS if we could run emulators on it. what's the latest console it could emulate at full speed? maybe Dreamcast?
     
  20. Skelletonike

    Member Skelletonike ♂ ♥ Gallant Pervert ♥ ♀

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,831
    Location:
    Steam City
    Country:
    Portugal
    There was a PS2 game ported to the 3DS, which is Tales of the Abyss and the game didn't suffer any alterations graphics wise, besides the add of 3D. Given that the 3DS is nearly as powerful as a wii, it should be able to run gamecube games, emulation wise it's hard to say though.. It should be able to emulate N64 without problems or even PSX if it's done correctly, but dunno fore anything more recent like PS2 and Gamecube, seems highly unlikely.
     
  21. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    PSX on PSP is virtualization, not hardware emulation, which is why it doesn't have a gigantic performance hit. On the other hand, GC is PPC while 3DS is ARM, CPU hardware virtualization won't work.

    I still haven't seen any benchmarks (of the 3DS itself, not similar hardware-using devices), and we're not likely to see some until people publicly get unsigned code running on it to whip up some benchmark-type programs.
     
    the_randomizer likes this.
  22. chocoboner

    Newcomer chocoboner VILLAIN

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    brain city
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ah yeah, you're right. there's an architecture difference.

    even though we have no benchmarks, I'm guessing that fact probably makes it unlikely that GC games will ever run on 3DS via emulation.
     
  23. SuzieJoeBob
    This message by SuzieJoeBob has been removed from public view by raulpica, Apr 15, 2013, Reason: Blah -rp.
    Apr 15, 2013
  24. Ziggy Zigzagoon

    Member Ziggy Zigzagoon GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Are you high?? The Nintendoo DS could not play PlayStation 1 games nor even Nintendoo 64 games or Gameboy Advance games (the latter without help)! The 3DS is not THAT drastic a step-up.
     
  25. Rizsparky

    Member Rizsparky Saiyan Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,479
    Location:
    The Future
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Incorrect, they do infact use roms
     
    Friendsxix and Eerpow like this.
  26. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,709
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Even if the 3DS was fully hacked and had some overclocking, it still wouldn't be powerful enough to play Gamecube games.

    Also flashcards work in DS-Mode, which means it's even more limited to what power it can use.
     
  27. Eerpow

    Member Eerpow *swoosh*

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069
    Location:
    ERROR!
    Country:
    Sweden
    Are you equally as high??! What the hell does emulation capabilities of the DS have to do with anything? The difference between a DS and a 3DS is huuge spec wise.
    That said though, the idea of emulating a system more powerful than itself is laughable. The reason 3DS games look better is because of the much more capable GPU and lower resolution the games are being rendered at.

    ROM = Read Only Memory
    They are roms, haven't you heard the term CD-ROM before?
     
  28. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    If we go by that standard, every single console in the history of ever used ROM's.

    The accepted nomenclature is "ROM" for proprietary chip images and "ISO" for disc images because that's how they're stored, the format here is irrelevant. :P

    That said, yes, I suppose you're all right saying so.
     
    gamefan5, Skelletonike and Sicklyboy like this.
  29. dj4uk6cjm

    Member dj4uk6cjm GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    United States


    Nope, sorry buddy. I may be a complete nark but even i know that you cannot run gamecube games on the 3ds. Just not possible, ain't gonna happen. :P



    Edit: Would be badass though i'll give you that!
     

Share This Page