Hardware GameCube Controller Usage On Wii System Menu?

psvpwner

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2015
Messages
119
Trophies
0
Age
63
XP
111
Country
What I do is set my Wii to auto boot into The Homebrew Channel that can be controlled fine with the GC controller. This of course requires you to have a modded Wii.
 

Arecaidian Fox

fox-ott
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2013
Messages
1,286
Trophies
1
Age
35
Location
Washington State
XP
2,664
Country
United States
What I do is set my Wii to auto boot into The Homebrew Channel that can be controlled fine with the GC controller. This of course requires you to have a modded Wii.
I do. The issue is that I have forwarders set up on my system menu, so... Would defeat the purpose of having those anyway. What I was hoping is that someone had found a way to trick the Wii into thinking it was a classic/pro controller while on the menu.
 

psvpwner

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2015
Messages
119
Trophies
0
Age
63
XP
111
Country
I do. The issue is that I have forwarders set up on my system menu, so... Would defeat the purpose of having those anyway. What I was hoping is that someone had found a way to trick the Wii into thinking it was a classic/pro controller while on the menu.

Yeah I was looking for the same thing until I gave up and made it auto boot into HBC :/
If there is a way though, I'll definitely switch back to the Wii System Menu.
 

RodrigoDavy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2011
Messages
1,453
Trophies
0
XP
869
Country
Brazil
I installed the Priiloader and set it to autoboot the Homebrew Channel. Much better that way, not only does it allow to use the gamecube controller but the Wii also boots faster, specially since there is no Healthy and Safety notice.
 

Acidflare

HomeBrew Beta Tester
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2013
Messages
1,106
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Nether World
XP
248
Country
Canada
I do. The issue is that I have forwarders set up on my system menu, so... Would defeat the purpose of having those anyway. What I was hoping is that someone had found a way to trick the Wii into thinking it was a classic/pro controller while on the menu.

use USB Loader GX as Autoboot from Priiloader it can use the GC controller, you can access your other forwarders from there too
 

Acidflare

HomeBrew Beta Tester
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2013
Messages
1,106
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Nether World
XP
248
Country
Canada
But besides using a Wiimote that's as far as the system menu will go, I don't understand why a CC/CCP works but the nunchuk control stick doesn't work and neither does the gamecube controller.
 

Millertime2325

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 13, 2014
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
125
Country
United States
I don't really care much about the system menu, but I wish there was a way to control Netflix with the gamecube controller. I agree OP, it gets annoying having to switch back and forth.
 

Arecaidian Fox

fox-ott
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2013
Messages
1,286
Trophies
1
Age
35
Location
Washington State
XP
2,664
Country
United States
I don't really care much about the system menu, but I wish there was a way to control Netflix with the gamecube controller. I agree OP, it gets annoying having to switch back and forth.
The priiloader + USB Loader GX combo worked well for me. Just make sure you have a nand backup first. But anyway, with this new setup I actually don't even have to touch a Wii Remote unless an application or game requires it.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic: I did not want to see diaper porn on GBAtemp today.....