GameCube Backups?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by sanoblue, Oct 31, 2008.

Oct 31, 2008

GameCube Backups? by sanoblue at 10:48 PM (1,972 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. sanoblue
    OP

    Member sanoblue The Fuzzy Blue Woof!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    Anyway to set it up with just the wii and gamecube?

    since the wii can backup the gc games now...

    anyway to get it running?
     
  2. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    Are you asking on how to make backups or how to run them? [​IMG]

    Only way I know of to run them is to use an SDGecko to run SD-Boot... or a just use modchip.

    With the Gamecube you can do it using Datel's SD media launcher.
     
  3. sanoblue
    OP

    Member sanoblue The Fuzzy Blue Woof!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    yea thats the conclusion ive found... all i have is gc memory cards and action replay... and a wii... im thinkin maybe i can use the wii to put the files on the memory card then use the action replay to launch it
     
  4. sanoblue
    OP

    Member sanoblue The Fuzzy Blue Woof!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    i know how to make the backups... im trying to figure out how to run them now... ive got some older rare games i dont wanna lose
     
  5. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    Action Replay is blocked on the Wii though... [​IMG] if you have it up-to-date. Unless GeckoOS boots it up... I don't have an AR. [​IMG]
     
  6. sanoblue
    OP

    Member sanoblue The Fuzzy Blue Woof!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    yea i know the wii has it blocked... but there are ways around it...

    but i was thinkin use the wii to set the memory cards up so i can use the action replay on the gc and run the memory cards there
     
  7. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    There are a few options you have.

    A: Get a modchip. They run about 99% of Gamecube backups perfectly. And you can put multiple games on 1 disc!
    B: Go to your local Gamestop or EBGames and pick up a used Gamecube for $30. Then, order a Gamecube SD Media Launcher and use GCOS to launch backups. I don't know how well this works because I haven't tested it.
    C: Get a Gamecube and install a modchip on that! This way you don't have to boot up an application to boot backups. It just loads like normal.

    Note that for B and C, you'll either need to burn on mini DVDs, or mod your case so that the Gamecube is big enough to accept full sized DVDs.
     
  8. Miles

    Member Miles GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United States
    You could install the Gamecube Homebrew launcher, and us an SD Gecko or USB Geco to load up SD Boot or USB Boot.

    It doesn't play all the games, but it plays a good number.

    Some games I couldn't get working were Tales of Symphonia, and Pikmin.
     
  9. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    I think GCOS would be easier because since SD Gecko's only go up to 2GB, you could only fit 1 game on there. But with burning the games on DVDs, you have an unlimited supply. I don't know how much space a USB Gecko has though.
     
  10. Miles

    Member Miles GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United States
    Actually SD Boot can read my non-SDHC 4GB cards fine, and apparently it can read SDHC, but I never tried.
    I also forgot to mention, there are applications out there that trim the ISOs of GC games without losing any of the data.
    Most GC games are only a few hundred megabyes in size.
    Animal Crossing and Pikmin for example didn't even break the 100MB barrier if I recall correctly.
     
  11. sanoblue
    OP

    Member sanoblue The Fuzzy Blue Woof!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    so there is no way to do it with just a wii and a gamecube?

    i have an actionreplay...
     
  12. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    An SD Gecko is like $5 at DX and modchips are pretty cheap too. [​IMG]
     
  13. Miles

    Member Miles GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United States
    Honestly, if you have a gamecube already, I'd say either get a mod chip or get SD Media Launcher and Action Replay.
    The Wii can do it, but it's not 100%, or probably even 75% for that matter.
     
  14. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    I disagree. With the combination of a modchip and GCOS multidisc, the Wii can play almost every game from any region. I've burned around 15 backups, and had no problems with any of them.
     
  15. Miles

    Member Miles GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United States
    I was refering to using SD Boot and Gamecube Homebrew launcher.
     

Share This Page