Gaming Game Installation without Steam

kicknhorse

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
320
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
North Somerset
Website
Visit site
XP
147
Country
Good'day everyone.

I had a search and could not find a straight forward answer to this question, so I would like to ask all of you.

As you all my be aware, games recently are increasingly needing a third party program to install a physically purchased game.

I am a long time fan of Civilization and have played almost every itineration of the series. I have though only recently had the means to try out V.

I purchased the game from an online store - you could say I maybe needed to do my research beforehand but this point is irrelevant. Due to my previous computer being 6 years old I kept myself happy with the vast library of older games and I only just came aware of how severe this problem is.

So yea, from an online store and it never mentioned anything on the site about needing Steam to install. It came in the post, I took the disc straight out the box and it went straight into my computer - then I was met by needing to install Steam - as has been the case with some other games I purchased recently.

I know you may say 'the only legal way to play blah blah blah' and 'Steam is awesome' *with shit spewing out of your mouth* (in the nicest way possible) because it is besides the point in all fairness and only a matter of opinion.

I do not want Steam and nothing to do with it, but I have indeed purchased a game I want to play. My question being, after my digressions, is: What is the work around for either installing a game without Steam that requires it or to install and then be able to delete Steam?

Otherwise I will just return the game and stick with IV. I have heard mixed opinions about V and hardcore Civ fans, but I still want to give it a good whirl myself first.


** I did just notice the horrible title to this thread - it was suppose to be 'Game installation without Steam' but my keyboard has been playing up. If someone could change this please? Thank you!
 

kicknhorse

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
320
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
North Somerset
Website
Visit site
XP
147
Country
Google "Smart Steam"

:D

its steam but you dont have to be online and stuff

Oh I see, that certainly is interesting. Thank you very much, I will look into it as a viable alternative, as long as there is no other way?

Upon further inspection, it says that I need to have Steam installed originally to install smartsteam. Can I then delete Steam afterwards?
 

Pong20302000

making notes on everything
Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
8,076
Trophies
0
Location
One's inner self
Website
3dsdb.com
XP
2,305
Country
Google "Smart Steam"

:D

its steam but you dont have to be online and stuff

Oh I see, that certainly is interesting. Thank you very much, I will look into it as a viable alternative, as long as there is no other way?

Upon further inspection, it says that I need to have Steam installed originally to install smartsteam. Can I then delete Steam afterwards?

you cant uninstall becasue smart steam modifys steam on the fly
so its running steam but with no limitations
 

kicknhorse

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
320
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
North Somerset
Website
Visit site
XP
147
Country
Google "Smart Steam"

:D

its steam but you dont have to be online and stuff

Oh I see, that certainly is interesting. Thank you very much, I will look into it as a viable alternative, as long as there is no other way?

Upon further inspection, it says that I need to have Steam installed originally to install smartsteam. Can I then delete Steam afterwards?

you cant uninstall becasue smart steam modifys steam on the fly
so its running steam but with no limitations

Oh I see... I appreciate your help, very much so, but its not exactly what I wanted :/
 

kicknhorse

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
320
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
North Somerset
Website
Visit site
XP
147
Country
The thing is though, I don't want Steam in any form. I don't want to have Steam and then crack it. I just don't want Steam. Is there not something like Daemon Tools that works?

And also Ryupower - I am sorry but that made no sense at all in terms of the English language
 

Pong20302000

making notes on everything
Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
8,076
Trophies
0
Location
One's inner self
Website
3dsdb.com
XP
2,305
Country
steam cracks normally mean downling a whole disk image thats bene modifyed
Well dur but OP wants to play Civilization V and there's a crack out there.

Edit: OP, why don't you want to install Steam? Does it physically hurt you?

guess the closest thing he will get is
Sid Meiers Civilization V-SKIDROW

SKIDROW normally remove the steam install but will have hte .dll files and stuff for steam installed
but means no multiplayer of any kind
 

kicknhorse

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
320
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
North Somerset
Website
Visit site
XP
147
Country
I do have the game and own it. It was the Game of the Year Edition - as suprisingly it was cheaper than the normal version.

I am not bothered about multiplayer though, I only play single player on Civilization
 

rehevkor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
523
Trophies
1
Website
Visit site
XP
1,520
Country
It's been a while but aren't the contents of the discs of Steam games encrypted and can only be decrypted via Steam. I admit the last such game I bought was Half-Life 2. Either way, when you buy physical copies of games that use Steam, you're basically buying the licence key that activates the game on Steam. I'm not sure there's any way around it besides simply pirating the game.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Samsung UI is probably a ram hog as it is
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Yeah. Could be a number of things. My old ass phone has a custom rom on it too so a lot of the bloat is gone, and its not using the moto UI
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @K3N1, I'm using an XCover 5
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    re youtube on phones. Newpipe is the way
    +1
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    3x playback speed and no adverts plus whole load of other things.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Until it gets a lawsuit notice
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    Not sure what path they would use for this one
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    On a different note entirely I randomly ended up on a hardware mods website. Lot of stuff for the GBA and DS it seems that I had missed entirely.
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    as well as the option to pay $2 for a surface mount standard fuse
  • Oleboy555 @ Oleboy555:
    i use re vanced
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    VPN YouTube premium $15 a year with a Turkey connection lol
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    D, E, F, G...
  • cearp @ cearp:
    @FAST6191 - totally agree. not sure the reasons people use vanced/revanced over newpipe.
    I guess it's because of people still wanting to use their yt account (with vanced)?
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    when I use newpipe, I am not signed in, no ads, have exportable watch lists etc... really good.
  • luotesi @ luotesi:
    Does anyone have a golden cheat for D2R v1.0.2.0?Like Money、Exp。
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Look elsewhere or make your own
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    With hookers and booze!!!
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    damn that robot just knew to put the whole bottle of ketchup on the hamburger somehow
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Or put mustard on hamburger :ninja:
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    we are living in the future
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Yeah cheese is a thing now
    K3N1 @ K3N1: Yeah cheese is a thing now