Game Contact AP

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Mr. Skies, Dec 31, 2010.

Dec 31, 2010

Game Contact AP by Mr. Skies at 11:18 PM (963 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Mr. Skies
    OP

    Newcomer Mr. Skies Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Brazil
    So I recently came upon this game called Contact for the DS. Seems like an interesting game, however, it has a type of AP wherein as soon as it enters the first animation it enters an infinite loop.
    Now, I know people are going to ask me to use the search function but- Try and search for "contact" with the search function and tell me if you have any luck, do you have any idea how much the word "contact" shows up? Hence why I ask of people who might know more.
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. ThePowerOutage

    Member ThePowerOutage The Lord of the Flyes

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    813
    Location:
    Vallhallah
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What flash card?
    Sounds similar to the AP in SS.
     
  3. Presto99

    Member Presto99 You slammin, bro?

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Location:
    Skyworld
    Country:
    United States
    It is annoying when something you need to look up is a very common name. I thought this thread might have been talking about...the metal contacts on the DS cart or something. But, no, I don't know what the problem is, and I haven't tried the game, but like TPO said, you should tell us what cart you have.
     
  4. Mr. Skies
    OP

    Newcomer Mr. Skies Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Brazil
    R4 with the latest Wood Firmware
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Checked to make sure the ROM is a clean one?
     
  6. Etalon

    Member Etalon Former Akaio Fanboy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Morocco
    Contact is a quite famous Atlus game.

    Since it's quite old, I don't think that it has any AP (US #0615, JAP #0374)

    I've played only 2 hours some time ago with Akaio without any problems.

    I'd follow Rydian's advice and try another ROM.
     
  7. Mr. Skies
    OP

    Newcomer Mr. Skies Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Brazil
    Okay, just checked and unless I somehow screwed up checking, it IS a clean rom. Program says "Cart Size" is ok, "Logo Code" is ok, "Header CRC" is ok and mentions that the "Secure CRC" is Decrypted...
     
  8. Etalon

    Member Etalon Former Akaio Fanboy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Morocco
    There are three ROMs of Contact DS: EUR, US & JAP.

    You have to test that.

    It's a good game, it's worth the effort.
     
  9. Mr. Skies
    OP

    Newcomer Mr. Skies Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Brazil
    Oy, ignore that, figured out the number of the EU release, 0841
     
  10. Etalon

    Member Etalon Former Akaio Fanboy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Morocco
    Contact (E)(FireX) #0841 [​IMG]
     
  11. Mr. Skies
    OP

    Newcomer Mr. Skies Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hrm... Got from 3 different sources, and EUR release isn't working either
     
  12. Mr. Skies
    OP

    Newcomer Mr. Skies Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Brazil
    I'm a moron. Okay, story-time, kids!
    I've met a fair few games before with APs that set into infinite loop of static animations, like CT's warp. So I see the beginning of this game, doctor typing at the PC... Forever. I am entirely sure there is an AP here, start searching the web, eventually ask here, try about 12 different sources.
    When i'm trying the JP version I get frustrated and jab my finger at the screen, and I hear the cat meow. I stop a moment, think... And prod the doctor, and he reacts! Argh, there was no friggen AP here, I was just an idiot ~_~
    Points for the game for that, though
     
  13. Arithmatics

    Member Arithmatics I'll be holding on to you. ;}

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,050
    Country:
    Malaysia
    It was just like me when I got stumped on LoZ:Phantom Hourglass where it said you had to transfer the stamp onto the map. It made me click each pixel of the DSLite touch screen. No dice. Finally I gave up and closed the DS. Luckily I reopened it before I turned it off. So yeah. It transferred.

    (Not much an AP. More of a following instructions fail)
     
  14. ferofax

    Member ferofax End of the World

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,564
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    so stamp on top screen, map on bottom, fold to "stamp" the map? pretty ingenious, but hard to guess at first, ahaha.
     

Share This Page