Full Shutdown Channel

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Ultratails42, Jun 22, 2009.

Jun 22, 2009

Full Shutdown Channel by Ultratails42 at 10:09 AM (5,772 Views / 0 Likes) 27 replies

  1. Ultratails42
    OP

    Newcomer Ultratails42 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Andromeda
    Country:
    United States
    Does anyone know of or think they could easily make an installable channel that upon load would do a full wii shutdown (Red light not orange light)? I know USB Loader GX can do a full shutdown once in the software but wondering if theres just a channel to start and have it shutdown. Or maybe a way to change it so when you power off the wii from the wiimote it does a full shutdown instead of idle shutdown.
     


  2. CheatingSoi

    Member CheatingSoi Graphic Designer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Preloader
     
  3. vergilite

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    why the f*ck are you so lazy that you can't
    1.get u off your apparent giant ass
    2.lift what you must assume to be the heaviest finger in the world
    3.press the power button
    4.somehow hold your finger there for a GIANT five whole seconds



    i know it seems impossible but with a lot of time and energy drinks you might accomplish the IMPOSSIBLE
     
  4. Ultratails42
    OP

    Newcomer Ultratails42 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Andromeda
    Country:
    United States
    Will that force me to load into the homebrew channel? I rarely use HBC compared to the regular system menu. Also I didnt notice any switches in the configuration for a full shutdown.
     
  5. CheatingSoi

    Member CheatingSoi Graphic Designer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Mmm, I'm not sure if it even works with 4.0. I know it did with 3.2 but I cant seem to find it anymore. I remember it was something like Ignore standby settings on Shutdown. But anyways, it does not force you to do anything. You never see preloader and you would never know it was there unless you hold reset while the system was booting on.
     
  6. hartleyshc

    Member hartleyshc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    Country:
    United States
    Yes preloader works with 4.0
    and yes it can do a full shut down.

    I use preloader to boot into a usbloader. The only time it DOESNT work is when the autoboot program is loaded. If you autoboot into the system menu, or leave the program that autoboots it works fine.

    example:
    boot into usbloader, (power button) goes into standby with the power button.
    boot into usbloader, launch game, (power button) fully shuts down.
    boot into usbloader, quit back to system menu, (power button) fully shuts down.
     
  7. WitoRIT92

    Member WitoRIT92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    430
    Country:
    United States
    ok this was very unnessasry, whos lazy enought to want to get one of these ?
    altho this could be cool... [​IMG] lol JK
     
  8. Ultratails42
    OP

    Newcomer Ultratails42 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Andromeda
    Country:
    United States
    Well my Wii is stuck behind a large number of boxes and stuff so I have to lean over things and hold to a wall to be able to press the power button and hold it. So it would be easier to just have a way to do a full shutdown from say a channel or I guess preloader which I will have to look into.
     
  9. Ultratails42
    OP

    Newcomer Ultratails42 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Andromeda
    Country:
    United States
    Alright. Got it working with preloader on my 4.0 menu. Thanks.
     
  10. WitoRIT92

    Member WitoRIT92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    430
    Country:
    United States
    well good to know your problem is soolved eh ?
     
  11. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,353
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    wahhaha hahahahahah!!!! [​IMG]
     
  12. Neversoft

    Member Neversoft GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    236
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ToNoobIsHuman did a /Quit channel that ejects any disks in the drive and powers the Wii off. It's available on the Wadder site: hxxp://wadder.net/downloads/filedownload.php?file=wads/Quit-QUIT.zip
     
  13. Fat D

    Member Fat D GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Country:
    Germany
    What about just disabling WC24, would that not do the job?
     
  14. pandora

    Newcomer pandora Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Why can't you just hold down the power button on the Wiimote?
     
  15. bdr9

    Member bdr9 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    558
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, but he wants to also be able to shut down into standby (yellow light) mode with having to constantly change that option.
     
  16. ddp127

    Member ddp127 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    449
    Country:
    Netherlands
    if you disable WC24 you cannot enter the weather or news channels,

    and @pandora, the power button on the wiimote shuts down to standby
     
  17. The-Kevster

    Newcomer The-Kevster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just turn off Standby Connection in the Wii Connect 24 menu. Then there's no standby setting just off and it works from the WiiMote. Good for those of us with USB drives powered from the USB port!!!
     
  18. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    and it'll still work for weather and news channels if you just turn off standby, not wc24
     
  19. Ice God64

    Newcomer Ice God64 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    East Coast
    Country:
    United States
    Be right back, running to the store so I can harness the energy to turn my Wii off.

    Anyway, actually, I supposed this is kinda related; I have Standby mode off on mine completely. Other than updates from Nintendo(lol), what advantages are there to that I can't get from from watching the weather channel and any one of the 99 billion news shows out there? On a side note, I've actually heard standby mode can actually damage your console, which I think is correct, since it gets quite in standby mode and I think I've lost one Wii this way. Can anyone else verify this?
     
  20. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,353
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    you guys are just so lazy! and anyway you shouldn't lave wiiconnect on standby it's dangerous
     

Share This Page