Friggin sonic chronicles or whatever its called

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Surexius, Feb 3, 2009.

Feb 3, 2009
  1. Surexius
    OP

    Newcomer Surexius Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Argh I can't get this game to work!

    Absolutely no luck on the R4 and I can run it but not save it on the Acekard. Is there a better version of it coming out anytime soon?
     


  2. Siegmund Fretzga

    Newcomer Siegmund Fretzga Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Krannzburg
    Country:
    Germany
    Grab a non-buggy Flashcard. No new version, ROM is ROM.
     
  3. Chrono_Tata

    Member Chrono_Tata GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Country:
    Thailand
    Lol at blaming the ROM instead of an outdated cart.

    And isn't asking where to download ROM against the rule? This thread will be locked in three minutes.
     
  4. Surexius
    OP

    Newcomer Surexius Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Surely an Acekard2.1 is pretty much non-buggy and I use AKaio software on it. Do you have any problems running it or more like saving it?

    *Previous post fixed now. I was really just wondering if it was a problem with the Rom or my own hardware/software*
     
  5. Brocktree

    Member Brocktree GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    Australia
  6. CoconutCake

    Member CoconutCake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    Works fine on Acekard 2.1 with AKAIO last time I tried. Maybe you did something wrong.

    Crappy game anyway. Makes me sick what they did to Sonic over the years. Bleh.
     
  7. gillman

    Newcomer gillman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    I had to use the arm7 fix to get it to work on my m3 real. Try that out. Bonus points if you don't ask what arm7 is and just look it up.
     
  8. Diosoth

    Member Diosoth GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Country:
    United States
    You were expecting quality from Bioware? Bah! They're BIOWARE, they're famous for a Star Wars game and that one game with the sex scene that Jack Thompson approved of. They can sell a game on their name alone!
     
  9. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    works here, ak2.1 default loader
     
  10. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the R4 is genuine try using the YSMenu firmware. Most games that are known to have ARM7 problems work fine on YSMenu without needing patching.

    EDIT: This includes Sonic Chronicles
     
  11. Edgedancer

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    The R4/M3 Simply are only staying afloat due to publicity and rom fixes by people on the forum. I would have to say that I ended up downloading a copy that was pre-patched so that I would make no mistakes.
     
  12. sweenish

    Member sweenish GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    bioware also made jade empire, the baldur's gate series, neverwinter nights, and MDK.

    i either failed at the sarcasm, or you're stupid.

    the two games you mentioned earned close to 100 GOTY awards combined.
     
  13. Porkdish

    Member Porkdish GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    Australia
    You failed your sarcasm check.
     
  14. Surexius
    OP

    Newcomer Surexius Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks I'll try ARM7.

    I love bioware. Seriously baldurs gate was a classic Neverwinter was sweet as well. Never played starwars but it looked pretty good.
     
  15. Surexius
    OP

    Newcomer Surexius Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I should mention that I've given up on running it on my R4 and have been trying to run it on my Acekard, so I think this topic has been moved to the wrong place.

    But I've followed Curly's guide but still no joy. What actually happens is that the game runs fine. Its when I hit the save button. It tells me the save is sucessfull and then I get white out on both screens.
     
  16. LivingToDie

    Banned LivingToDie Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    The world that never was
    Country:
    Netherlands
    works with firecard and with m3 real
     
  17. Surexius
    OP

    Newcomer Surexius Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Although I get whiteout and can't play the game directly after I save; now if I turn my DS of I can load from where I have saved and the game plays normally. So thanks I guess the Arm7 worked afterall...in a werid way !

    *This topic can be closed now. *
     
  18. sweenish

    Member sweenish GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    i can chalk it up to that

    in my defense, my sarcasm meter usually catches most of it

    EDIT: and as far as being on topic, my arm7 patched sonic worked flawlessly on R4 stock 1.18 firmware. haven't booted it in ysmenu. what was the donor ROM? it should have been summon night: twin ages (USA)

    also, use dsbuff, great program for this sort of thing.
     
  19. Canonbeat234

    Member Canonbeat234 Redeemed Temper

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Japan
    ARGH WHY DO PEOPLE COMPLAIN ABOUT GAMES AND CAN'T TYPE THE NAME CORRECTLY!?!

    It's called Sonic Chronicles: The Dark Brotherhood...GOD!!
     
  20. alcaholjunkie

    Member alcaholjunkie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Didn't you read the back of the cover for that game? [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    sorry, I couldn't resist. XD
     

Share This Page