Hacking Flashing Newbie - R4 Brick Question

newyears1978

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I looked around and couldnt find an exact answer to my question, only bits and pieces. I am brand new to his flashing stuff so please bear with me and give me a break. Tonight decided to get one of these babies to play with in my daughters DS that she just got for Christmas..

I purchased (before thoroughly reading around here, my fault) the R4. Then I see all the topics about fakes, bricking and how it is outdated and I purchased the Cyclo soon after. I am trying to get my original order cancelled but not sure if that will happen. My question is will the R4, if it is a fake..damage her DS? If I never update the Firmware past 1.18 or whatever..will it "brick"the DS? What exactly does brick mean anyways? I assume make it dead, not work?

Any advise would be helpful. Im thinking if they dont cancel I will use the Cyclo for my own DS when I get it soon and just let her use the R4 but I want to make sure it won't damage anything?

cory1492

Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Some cards have had problems with current draw on initial power up, causing a fuse in the DS to blow - essentially 'bricking' it, as with most things a DS with a blown power fuse will not turn on. This problem is more often seen (but not something that is guaranteed to happen) on clones, as they don't have much of a name to hold up anyway so they churn out whatever junk at the cheapest prices they possibly can - cheaper parts means more likelyhood to see powerup spikes due to out of tolerance parts.

As to being worried about the DS firmware itself - read up on flashme, with it installed a DS isn't brickable short of blowing hardware fuses.

SpikeyBryan

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Well, the R4 itself isn't going to harm your DS at all, neither can a fake R4. Let's just stay out of the whole DS Bricker thing (It's probably one of the only things that can brick your ds besides FLASHME)...