flashcart buying

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by clegion, Aug 10, 2009.

Aug 10, 2009

flashcart buying by clegion at 4:27 AM (784 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. clegion
    OP

    Member clegion GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,612
    Country:
    United States
    ok i am gonna splurge on flashcart and expansions
    so my choice
    m3i or ak2i (i want it with all the features and good rom compability)
    and what do you reccomend for the expansion?
    thank you just thought that it's time for my fake r4 and edge retires
     
  2. clegion
    OP

    Member clegion GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,612
    Country:
    United States
    yeah i kinda just want the peace of mind that i can use this cart on my soon to be bought dsi too
    okay which one of them is easier to use? and has more rom (both nds and gba )compability, by easy i mean that i function the way it should be (no need to patch, no disappearing save, no fancy way need to be used when booting up), sorry if i am asking too much
     
  3. clegion
    OP

    Member clegion GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,612
    Country:
    United States
  4. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    PharaohsVizier, you almost make it sound like the 3in1 doesn't have any volatile memory of its own. You've got your choice of using the 32 MB of NOR flash that takes forever to flash or the 16 MB of RAM which only takes a few seconds each time. Obviously for 32 MB games you only have the one option, but for anything less you can use whichever one you wish.
     
  5. clegion
    OP

    Member clegion GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,612
    Country:
    United States
    hmmm, i would still use that non volatile memory, this is the expansion pack isn't it(http://www.bamboogaming.cn/shop.php/flash-card/ezflash/ez-flash-v-expansion-pack-free-shipping-/p_106.html) what else do i need to play gba games other than this and the firmware
     
  6. cngamemart

    Banned cngamemart Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    China
  7. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, that's the 3in1. Really, any device can work with the 3in1 by launching the third-party "GBA ExpLoader" program, which then copies the game to the 3in1 and launches it (or enables the RAM for use with the Opera browser). It's just that certain slot-1 devices have built-in support for the 3in1 in particular, allowing you to launch GBA games from the slot-1 menu rather than launching GBA ExpLoader first. It's more of a convenience thing than anything else.
     
  8. clegion
    OP

    Member clegion GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,612
    Country:
    United States
    acekard with akaio is one of those that can launch it directly?, so i don't need gba exploader but i still have to get the firmware right?
     
  9. TheWorldEndsWith

    Newcomer TheWorldEndsWith Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
    yea [​IMG]
     

Share This Page