Fixing DS Touchscreen's Accuracy?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Exbaddude, Jul 6, 2010.

Jul 6, 2010
  1. Exbaddude
    OP

    Member Exbaddude The Prince.

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,042
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I've been noticing for awhile that wherever I touch my DS on the touchscreen, it always detects it like ... 1mm lower than I touched it.
    I've tried calibrating but it still has this problem.

    Is there anyway to fix this WITHOUT replacing my touchscreen? Thanks! C:
     
  2. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    My only suggestion is calibrating 1mm above where you're supposed to touch.
     
  3. Exbaddude
    OP

    Member Exbaddude The Prince.

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,042
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for the suggestion! C:
     
  4. Uncout

    Newcomer Uncout Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Towcester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The only real way to fix this is to replace the touch screen. I had it happen to my old dsl, if it's still under warranty, send it to ninty to get it fixed.
     
  5. tigris

    Member tigris Sentient Existential Anthropomorphic Sweet Potato

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,689
    Location:
    The Tibetan Himalayas
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think there are a few DS troubleshooting files out there-go fish! Spinal Code has something. I think it's DS diagnose or something.
     
  6. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Sometimes, pulling the battery can help as it will reset the system to its defaults, but you'll lose all your settings and WiFi data and it could still not work.

    If you have a screen protector, try removing or replacing it and see if that helps. You'd be surprised how screen protectors can cause weird issues that you don't even realize exist. (someone at Pocket Heaven clued me in to that when I was having rapid pause/unpause issues with the Genesis emulator, even though regular touchscreen)

    Take a toothbrush and lightly scrub around the edges of the touchscreen where it meets the casing. Sometimes debris between the touchscreen and the casing can cause issues with calibration.

    YayMii's idea is pretty good too.

    If none of that works, THEN think about replacing the touchscreen or the DS itself.
     
  7. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    the only way i really solved my issue is replacing the screen, but try cleaning the sides as Rayder suggested as well.
     
  8. Exbaddude
    OP

    Member Exbaddude The Prince.

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,042
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for the reply! C:
     

Share This Page