Firmware 1.1.3 files?

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by pesaroso, Aug 31, 2009.

Aug 31, 2009

Firmware 1.1.3 files? by pesaroso at 1:40 AM (2,391 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. pesaroso
    OP

    Newcomer pesaroso Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    Hi all!

    I am one of the unfortunate, still with a DS-X ^^

    It worked for me all the way, but I fecked up really bad yesterday. In the settingsmenu, I enabled the quick boot-thingy, which will boot it into its last played game instantly.
    However, that was Prof. Layton 2 for me, which doesn't work.. Bummer ^^

    Anyway, I formatted the card without thinking about the damn stupid firmware updater they released, which allowed you to DL the files from their own server! It's idiotic, because their site is (of course) down..

    So, anyone with the DS-X 1.1.3. files out there who wanna upload'em in a zipfile to i.i.e Megaupload? Or am I all alone..? [​IMG]

    Appreciate it! Thanks [​IMG]

    Regards
     
  2. pbolmstedt

    Member pbolmstedt GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Sweden
    If you hold some keys while booting, "instant boot" will be turned off.
     
  3. pesaroso
    OP

    Newcomer pesaroso Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    Gah, too bad I formatted the drive.. :/

    Do you have a DS-X with firmware 1.1.3 ? I just need those files, 1.1.2 was horrible..
     
  4. pbolmstedt

    Member pbolmstedt GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Sweden
    http://yo-momma/temp/update.bin is the .bin file for the final public 1.1.3, but I'm not sure how to install it... didn't someone make an offline updater?
     
  5. pesaroso
    OP

    Newcomer pesaroso Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, I haven't been able to find it :/ Thanks for the bin though!
     
  6. pbolmstedt

    Member pbolmstedt GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Sweden
  7. pesaroso
    OP

    Newcomer pesaroso Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks again for your reply!

    Now here's an extremly weird thing.. It's blowing my mind to pieces :/

    I have formatted my DS-X like 10 times since yesterday. I've switched between the 64k cluster tequnique, and just a regular FAT-format..

    The hacked offline updater worked now, but it game me an error at first:
    [​IMG]

    However, when I formatted the drive to just FAT without the tip of 64k cluster etc (given in the useful information-topic you pointed to) it worked.

    However! My DS-X is empty. 0 bytes used, 1.94GB left.. I have formatted the card lots of times, and I have manually deleted all the files before the format.. I took a backup of my apps-folder, but it's still untouched on my desktop.

    Now here's the messed up thing..

    I took my DS-X, with NO space used, no files on it, formatted 10 times or more, and inserted it into my DS.
    I booted the DS, selected the DS-X from the startmenu-thingy, and it fucking boots to Prof Layton 2, still a black screen and music in the background.

    Hooow the hell is that even remotely possible?! It boggles my mind.. :/
    I've tried my bought DS-games, and they work as they should, so it's not my DS itself..
     
  8. pbolmstedt

    Member pbolmstedt GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Sweden
    Auto-boot is still on. You have to keep some buttons (don't remember which) depressed while DS-X starts.
     
  9. pesaroso
    OP

    Newcomer pesaroso Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    Aha, thanks! I had to press the A button [​IMG] Now it boots properly, and according to the "?"-mark in the upright corner, I'm on 1.1.3... But HOW can I even run the OS without any files on the drive? Am I still missing something here?
     
  10. pbolmstedt

    Member pbolmstedt GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Sweden
    The OS isn't on the drive! It's on the FPGA. Or something. It's all black magic to me. Formatting the card doesn't actually remove anything, it just tells any user of the card that all the space is available. So when DS-X knew exactly where to find good old professor Layton, it could still do it.
     
  11. pesaroso
    OP

    Newcomer pesaroso Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    Aha, okay then [​IMG]

    Anyway, thanks a LOT mate, you've been truly helpful! I'm just gonna have to live with Prof Layton 2 not working [​IMG]

    But I fixed my card thanks to your awesome tips, and I can game again ;D Cheers!
     

Share This Page