Firefox sets record for most single-day software downloads

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Fellow, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. Fellow
    OP

    Member Fellow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    In its first 24 hours, Firefox 4 was downloaded 7.1 million times, followed by a second day boost of 8.75 million, blowing away the previous Guinness World Record record for single-day software downloads.
    http://www.afterdawn.com/news/article.cfm/...tware_downloads
     


  2. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    w3c schools may have the ratio of firefox users increasing next month. I guess it implemented many of chromes interfaces but 7 million is a great number
     
  3. gokujr1000

    Member gokujr1000 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,715
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    Australia
    I still like firefox 3 better so until the day when I absolutely NEED firefox 4 then I'm not to worried.
     
  4. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    What, exactly, do you like about Firefox 3 that you dislike about Firefox 4?
    Because I bet with just a few minutes most of your 'problems' could be solved.
     
  5. tijntje_7

    Member tijntje_7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I don't think I'll switch to FF..
    The browser race is awesome atm [​IMG]

    Even internet explorer is trying his best. And he's finally somewhat succesful at fixing a lot of bugs, crashes, slowing stuff.

    But I don't mind having 3 different browsers installed on my pc O_O

    Edit: Wait, wut? It has no 64-bit version? [​IMG]
     
  6. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    At first I was turned off by Firefox 4. No refresh button and what not, of course, i fixed it, now it's a great browser. I love the "paste and search" function.

    I installed this update on my parents computer, and my dad was complaining about the security features that were in the old firefox, 3.6 or whatever, they're not in 4. That's not true is it?
     
  7. BobTheJoeBob

    Member BobTheJoeBob The most optimistic person on the temp. :)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm genuinely too lazy to install firefox 4. Meh, oh well.
     
  8. Sir_Voe

    Member Sir_Voe GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    318
    Country:
    United States
    I kind of wish I had stuck with my old version. On my system, pages take longer to load now.
     
  9. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,827
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    I'm still on firefox 3.6.16. Doest like the layout of 4.0.
     
  10. ShawnTRods

    Member ShawnTRods GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4,284
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I barely notice any difference to be honest. Or I just got used to the new one lol.

    Also, I am not surprised [​IMG]. I myself refered at least 100 people to use Firefox. lol
     
  11. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    you may want to check this out
     
  12. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    People complained about Firefox 3 being a huge change from Firefox 2 at first as well...

    Though I admit I do use some of those suggestions... Status-4-Evar, Tabs on Bottom, but that's just because I think it's more functional to have the tabs above the page itself and I frequently use the statusbar, so it's easier to use for me.
     
  13. Donald Serrot

    Member Donald Serrot GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    366
    Country:
    United States
    It has a refresh button. :wtf:
    It's to the right of the URL box, next to the star.
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    That day is now, seeing as 3.6 is retired.

    http://www.mozilla.org/security/known-vuln.../firefox36.html

    As you can see firefox (like any major product) has vulnerabilities, and future vulnerabilities will not be patched.

    Just deal with the UI changes and switch to 4, your computer will thank you.
     
  15. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's not about the UI changes, but the functionality. I have a lot of extensions I depend on, some that haven't been updated in a long time.
    I'm worried Firefox 4 will kill some of those extensions, ones I really can't live without.

    I already have glasser making my Firefox 3.6 look transparent, which is pretty nice.
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Me too, but I got over them when I found there were alternatives that did the same things, and most likely better since they were actually being updated.

    Seriously, you might be surprised at how there's like 5 plugins that all do the same thing on firefox... in addition the jobs of some plugins are no longer needed in 4 (like how personas was integrated in 3.6), such as the text area resizer.
     
  17. Jolan

    Member Jolan Unlimited Bear Works

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Netherlands, currently
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    Is there some way I can check if 4.0 supports my old plugins? I don't want to lose any settings on ChatZilla :/ Plus, all my Greasemonkey scripts :
     
  18. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
     
  19. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    I've been using 4 beta at work for a while now and I don't really like it compared to 3. Firefox 4 tries too hard to be Chrome, which I don't like.
     
  20. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    You can fully glass all of Firefox without any additional addons* now. It's all done through CSSv3:
    [​IMG]
    How much or how little glass is all up to you.

    *You won't need a specific addon to give glass, but you will need Stylish, which is a CSS editor much like GreaseMonkey is for Java, that can be used for many things.
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/stylish/
    http://userstyles.org/styles/browse/all/glass

    I use slightly modified (and combined) versions of these for my glass (PM me if you want it):
    http://userstyles.org/styles/39290/firefox-4-windows-7-style
    http://userstyles.org/styles/19561/downloa...nsparency-ff3-5

    (corrected a link)
     

Share This Page