Firefox 9.0 Beta 2

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by coolness, Nov 20, 2011.

Nov 20, 2011

Firefox 9.0 Beta 2 by coolness at 10:03 AM (2,693 Views / 0 Likes) 40 replies

  1. coolness
    OP

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Mozilla released a new beta of there Firefox software v9 Beta 2

    * Added Type Inference, significantly improving JavaScript performance
    * Improved theme integration for Mac OS X Lion
    * Added two finger swipe navigation for Mac OS X Lion
    * Added support for querying Do Not Track status via JavaScript
    * Added support for font-stretch
    * Improved support for text-overflow
    * Improved standards support for HTML5, MathML, and CSS
    * Fixed several stability issues

    V9 Beta 2
    V9 Beta 1

    Source 1
    Source 2
     


  2. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hopefully it fixes some rather annoying bugs I've had. For instance if I would minimize and then again maximize a Youtube video it acted all up.
     
  3. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I just use Aurora. I'm already on 10.0. :3
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. Chhotu uttam

    Member Chhotu uttam DOH HO HO HO

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    TEH WORLD
    Country:
    India
    hope to see 9.0 on the release version soon :P
     
  5. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    11 here :3
     
  6. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,349
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    blood hell it just told me not long ago that v8 was out!!
     
  7. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,422
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    They changed the release naming convention.
    Instead of incrementing minor version, they now increment major.


    @Coolness : It's not a firmware, it's just a software.
     
  8. coolness
    OP

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ow hahah my wrong :P
    EDIT: fixed
     
  9. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,349
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    we'll have firefox 20.0 soon...has there ever been a 20.0 software version on anything? :P
     
  10. coolness
    OP

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    YES there is :D
    http://www.icd9data.com/2008/Volume1/V01-V86/V20-V29/V20/V20.0.htm
     
  11. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,422
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I just tried 11.x, they changed (or removed) something which is not documented yet :(
    Searching in the source code and issue tracker is a pain.

    My addon is now not working correctly with Firefox 11.

    Oh, and it's not stable at all :
    Browser window has bugs (no text when prompted, can't open saving window anymore (ctrl+j).

    Don't use 11 for the moment :P
     
  12. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,187
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    current release trend is 6 weeks
    so expect FF9.0 around then (about 5 weeks from now)
     
  13. chartube12

    Member chartube12 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,726
    Country:
    United States
    I stopped using 7 when it started giving me viruses every time I opened it. Even a reinstall didn't solve the issue. Now there is a 9 already?
     
  14. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    No text when prompted? You mean like javascript popups? Both of those are working here. I agree its not stable( i get occasional crashes ) but nothing too major. In fact, it's pretty good :)
     
  15. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ITT: People bragging about being on publicly available release streams.
    WELL GUYS, I USE A CUSTOM COMPILE FOR x64 MACHINES THAT ISN'T NIGHTLY. AREN'T I COOL?

    Seriously though, there is not much point to posting news about every beta release, as they are quickly merged into the main trunk. And if you really want to stay on top of things, you're free to post news about every single commit.
    There becomes a point where news is over-redundant, and this is it.


    Memory leaks all the time, I leave firefox running for days at a time and it is crucial to my work in web development. I have switched to compiling the aurora trunk myself, for the x86_64 architecture (with optimization tags) which has proven to be infinitely more stable than the nightly builds.
    EDIT: Very similar to this (I used the same process, only for aurora).
     
    1 person likes this.
  16. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    YES YOU ARE

    free game pl0x
     
    1 person likes this.
  17. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Give me DOTA2 and sure.
     
  18. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,422
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Lolzed, I tried to close multiple tabs at the same time, and I got a prompt window with no text except "ok" "cancel". there were no "are you sure to close multiple tabs?"
    When I tried to open the download manager, it didn't work.

    Maybe it was caused by some installed addons.
    I went back to 10.01, it works fine.

    and about my own addon's problem, it's not detecting other installed conflicting addons.
    I guess they changed (again, they did it for Firefox4) the way the installed addons are referenced.

    Having a 6 week time frame for major releases is now a big change (headache) for addon developers, there's a lot of incompatibility every time :(
     
  19. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    firefox 9? I am still using version 4, no reason to upgrade as the more you upgrade the worse the browser gets especially the memory hog, completly locks up my pc.
     
  20. Ritsuki

    Member Ritsuki ORAORAORAORA

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,217
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Actually, I think it's the contrary with Firefox. They really try to reduce memory consuption over time.
     

Share This Page