Firefox 3.6 released

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by DeMoN, Jan 25, 2010.

Jan 25, 2010

Firefox 3.6 released by DeMoN at 9:15 PM (3,461 Views / 0 Likes) 49 replies

  1. DeMoN
    OP

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Four days too late, but no one else made a topic yet.
    It broke half of my addons, and you can no longer use Personas with custom themes. [​IMG]
    The only new thing I noticed is that when you click on a link that opens a new tab, the tab opens next to the tab you were at rather than moving to the end.

    Nooo, my Platypus broke. Dammit!
     


  2. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    I use ~30 extensions regularly, Platypus is the only that broke with this release.

    Definitely a noticable performance and responsibility increase in the OSX build. Per-tab priority scheduling should also decrease the random lockups due to heavy script in background tabs.

    Mostly an incremental release though. Still don't really understand the point of personas. Like it's really so hard to restart your browser.
     
  3. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    I notice firefox starts up quicker since I updated, especially on my little netbook. My addons still function fine. Than again I don't use too many.
     
  4. soulfire

    Member soulfire gear... secando

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    583
    Location:
    rotterdam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yeah it's quite faster but i don't really notice difference in other things
     
  5. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    my addons and theme brokey [​IMG]
     
  6. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,264
    Country:
    Australia
    it made my Firefox look awesome [​IMG]
     
  7. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Eh, Personas are over-rated.
    I do use it, but only for a simple grey gradient on my toolbar to make it look a bit better.

    I wanna update to 3.6, but one of my most used extensions, save image in folder hasn't been updated yet.
     
  8. asdf

    Member asdf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    827
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    Country:
    United States
    FastestFox, Personas, SkipScreen, and AdBlockPlus still work.
     
  9. soulfire

    Member soulfire gear... secando

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    583
    Location:
    rotterdam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i see myself [​IMG]

    ftw
     
  10. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm running the 3.7 alpha version, and HATING it. It does nothing so far. Flash doesn't even work. Just got the 3.6 Namoroka 64bit release. Loving it. [​IMG]
     
  11. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's because Alpha releases are for testing and developing.
    You are bound to have a bumpy ride if you try to use an Alpha release.
     
  12. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    Actually, I think it was beta. [​IMG]
     
  13. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    As far as I'm aware there's no 3.7 beta yet.
     
  14. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    This is correct.
     
  15. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    Sorry. It was alpha. Silly me. [​IMG]
     
  16. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Firefox 3.6? I'll update it since 3.5.7 has been extremely laggy.

    Platypus doesn't work! [​IMG]
     
  17. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    hmmmm very interesting...

    I have to say that when it comes to start-up times.... Google Chrome wins due to Firefox's lag from addons

    but when it comes loading web pages, Firefox wins due to its better built engine :PPPP

    ~ Jon
     
  18. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Unfair!

    Why would you do a 'start-up test' when Firefox already has addons on and Chrome doesn't? Do a test without add-ons! [​IMG]
     
  19. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Nononono That's what i did. I disabled all add-ons which were not necessary. THEN launched Firefox. Its launch time was about a second behind Chrome's. Of course I wouldn't run a test WITH add-ons installed. That completely and utterly stupid. You could do the same just by adding extensions to Chrome.

    ~ Jon
     
  20. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Then why did you say "lag from addons"?
     

Share This Page