Final Fantasy IV Glitch?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Fekore, Oct 9, 2008.

Oct 9, 2008

Final Fantasy IV Glitch? by Fekore at 3:29 AM (1,704 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Fekore
    OP

    Newcomer Fekore Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi, I am having problems with a part in FFIV. I'm very close to finishing the game and this problem is getting me frustrated. During the part that I'm at, you have to face the Queen whose name is Asura. This is required to talk to the king. Anyways, I go into battle, I end up defeating her and then some dialogue commences. Asura says "Allow me, too, to lend my strength to your cause. Summon me whenever you have need." After that it says "Rydia learned Asura" and both of the screens go black and the sound shuts off. When I turn my volume up to the maximum, I can hear a buzzing noise coming from the speakers. Does anybody know what should be happening? I'm pretty sure near the beginning of the game I enabled some codes to have all the characters learn their Abilities, Spells etc, would this have anything to do with the problem? My hunch is that this is the reason why the game is freezing. Any help is greatly appreciated and if this problem is possible to fix without restarting the game, I would really like to hear how! I don't mind restarting the game since I know what to do up to that point, but it is a pain. If I have to restart, I will probably end up downloading a game save.

    Thanks in advance,

    Fekore
     
  2. X D D X

    Member X D D X GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    It might be because of the Cheats, what flashcart are you using?
     
  3. Fekore
    OP

    Newcomer Fekore Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm using the DSTT flashcart, I have also tried without the codes enabled at all, and the same problem occurs.
     
  4. dewback

    Member dewback GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    might be a bad dump or sometimes corrupted data on the sd card.

    back up the data and formate the sd card and copy the data back to it but do not use the nds file that was on the card
     
  5. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It might be because she's learning a spell she already has? Just a guess.
     
  6. ackers

    Member ackers GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Keep the save file but try it on a different dump.
     
  7. Fekore
    OP

    Newcomer Fekore Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    OK, thanks for the comments so far. I know how to format the SD Card, but I'm not exactly sure what you mean dew by "copy back the data to it and do not use the .nds file that was on the card." Does this mean to backup everything and then paste everything back onto the SD card, then re-download the actual game from the same ROM site or could I use my already downloaded file? I was thinking the same thing Law, maybe the save is corrupt because that was an important spell or something and I should have only learned it at that exact place and time. Anyways, I'm backing-up everything on my SD card, formatting and going to keep the same .sav file but carry over the original .nds file for the game. Thanks for the help so far!

    EDIT: I've just finished re-downloading everything back onto my SD card, and it was successful. When through the same part and the screen blanked out again! Other than that, all of my games on my SD card are now organized by their 4 digit number, I guess formatting wasn't a waste.
     
  8. Szyslak

    Member Szyslak Nudibranch Lover

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,442
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    This makes sense to me. You're trying to learn summons that Rydia already has, right?

    So the question is, if you already have the summons, why are you battling the king and queen, which are optional battles anyway?
     
  9. Fekore
    OP

    Newcomer Fekore Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm pretty sure that I need to defeat the queen in order to be able to talk to the king, somebody correct me if I'm mistaken. I have already spoken with the king and he doesn't reveal his identity to me until I defeat the queen. I'll check back with the king again to make sure about this.
     
  10. Szyslak

    Member Szyslak Nudibranch Lover

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,442
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    You do need to defeat the queen to talk to an battle the king. But all you get out of those two battles is the summons Asura and Leviathan. If you already have those summons from cheat codes, then there is no point in fighting those two battles. They are optional. They don't advance the story line.

    If you already have the summons, just skip the queen / king encounter and move on with your game.
     
  11. Fekore
    OP

    Newcomer Fekore Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Alright, I'll continue on with the game whatever it is that I have to do next. Thanks to everyone for their help!
     
  12. Balrogs.Pain

    Member Balrogs.Pain GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    maryland
    Country:
    United States
    Hold on, a little off topic, but RYDIA LIVES >.< Damnit, i ruined some part of the story line, im after like where she supposidly got eating or something. . . damnn.
     
  13. Szyslak

    Member Szyslak Nudibranch Lover

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,442
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] Woops. I guess there really should be a spoiler warning in the topic title description.

    The OP doesn't give away when you get her back, so there's still some surprises left.
     

Share This Page