Final Fantasy 5 name editing

Discussion in 'GBA - Game Development, ROM Hacks and Translations' started by 123flop, Jan 6, 2011.

Jan 6, 2011

Final Fantasy 5 name editing by 123flop at 6:27 AM (3,138 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

1. 123flop
    OP

Newcomer 123flop Newbie

Canada
    Okay, so, I love final fantasy 5, play it on my super nintendo all the time. And then I downloaded a GBA rom of it, so I could play it on an emulator on PSP. When I started playing, I wanted to change my main characters name, you only get one shot at it. The name change screen came up, it said "Bartz" I accidently clicked the "A" button, and it changed it to "BartzA". Then I tried to delete it, but it saved my name as "Bartza". So now I'm playing the game which a really weird name. Can anyone help me figure out how to change it using a rom editor or a hex editor? Thanks

2. Vigilante

Member Vigilante TempLurker

Philippines
    There are easier way to do this just just delete that save and start a new one,and base on what you said you just started the game so its okay

3. FAST6191

Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

pip
    United Kingdom
    Simply restarting the game would be easiest but assuming you played on for a while and do not want to lose progress

I am not aware of any save editors but if it is a custom name it will probably be stashed in the memory proper at some point- load up the save in an emulator like VBA and try to find it in the memory viewer (it might not be in ASCII). Try and do it shortly after it loads the save as that will leave the least to look through.

Change it in memory and it should then get overwritten when the game next saves- for the simple hack I would try and keep it at the same length otherwise you might have to deal with pointers, by all means fiddle with it but keep it in mind. This way you dodge issues with the save hashing.

4. Kaleid

Newcomer Kaleid Advanced Member

United States