1. Diogatos

    OP Diogatos Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    I use AKAIO 1.6 on my acekard 2i but when i play FFTA2 it crashes randomly. I haven't tested with other games, but can someone help me out here?

    Thanks
     
  2. Diogatos

    OP Diogatos Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Just a little update here:
    I tried Zelda Phantom Hourglass and Spirit Tracks, and both are getting their image crashed but the sound continues, although it gets really bad.
     
  3. dib

    dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,576
    Country:
    United States
    Until anybody else reports problems with those games, it's best to assume you're the only one and approach the problem as a more general issue. Try the typical stuff like formatting your card and reinstalling, and disabling soft reset and cheats.
     
  4. felixsrg

    felixsrg Temp's Ghost
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    Colombia
    Final Fantasy Tactics A2 freezes on me only when I activate some cheats, like the all weapons, Items, Armors and those too large, other way they work great.
     
  5. Diogatos

    OP Diogatos Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    I formated the disk using a SD formatter program, disabled soft reset and cheats but the games keep crashing. I even tried to put a piece of paper on the face of the acekard since i read on this forum that acekard 2i has contact problems but once i did that i loaded FFTA2 but the game wouldn't even go through the loading screen. But Kirby: Canvas Curse runs smoothly without crashes and Disgaea is yet to crash aswell.
    I'm going to format the SD again and follow the tutorial on the forum (I followed a video on the first time).
    Any more ideas to help me out here?

    Is it possible that the microSD is the one giving me the problems?
     
  6. Sinistral89

    Sinistral89 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    238
    Country:
    Try to use the 1.5.1 akaio instead of the 1.6RC since it is a kind of beta kernel at the moment. Might be that some small bug or something like that has gotten into the code and fuc* up the game or something. And if you still have trouble with FFTA2 then I can't help you.

    And as you said, it might be your microSD card giving up on life.
     
  7. Diogatos

    OP Diogatos Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    FFTA2 isn't the only game crashing unfortunettly and the microSD is new so i doubt it's already giving up on life [​IMG]
    I'll try to use 1.5.1 akaio then, thanks [​IMG]

    Edit: Just tried akaio 1.5.1 but it won't even load up games :S
     
  8. Diogatos

    OP Diogatos Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    It is now official, all games are crashing now :S
     
  9. Leonidas

    Leonidas GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Make sure you remove all files of the previous kernel,before you copy over a new one. Maybe 1.5.1 doesn't work because you still have files from 1.6rc1 in there. Also make sure that soft reset,cheats, dl play, are all disabled. And of course that the roms are proper.

    edit: if it still doesn't work you maybe have a bad card or card reader?
     
  10. Diogatos

    OP Diogatos Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Just did that but the games won't load, i can't even change the skin of akaio, the screen just goes white..

    Edit:About the microsd, this is the one i bought:
    http://www.worten.pt/ProductDetail.aspx?pi...amp;oid=&c=
    Is it enough to run the games smoothly or should i change it?
     
  11. Leonidas

    Leonidas GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Micro SD is not typically an issue, as long as it's properly formatted. Maybe it's your card reader copying corrupted data onto your card? Do you use a quality device or something cheap?

    Personally I'm using 1.5 with 21/12/2009 loader, and it works fine for games I play atm.
     
  12. Diogatos

    OP Diogatos Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    A friend of mine borrowed me his reader until I got mine from 0shippingzone (forgot to ask for one when i bought the acekard >_>) so i don't really know if it's a good one or not .. How can i check if it's the reader that is the problem here? If there's a way that is..
     
  13. Leonidas

    Leonidas GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Borrow your friend's reader perhaps? Also which O/S do you use for copying? Windows or another?
     
  14. Diogatos

    OP Diogatos Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    I already have his reader. I'm using Windows to copy..
     
  15. Cablephish

    Cablephish Show me...
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    917
    Country:
    Canada
    Odd, my game had a problem where the sound turned to static, then the game just froze.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - acekard2i, crashing, FFTA2