Few questions - 4.2 wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by shaun169, Dec 29, 2009.

Dec 29, 2009

Few questions - 4.2 wii by shaun169 at 2:41 AM (946 Views / 0 Likes) 1 replies

1. shaun169
    OP

Newcomer shaun169 Newbie

United Kingdom
    Hello. I'm quite new to this wii forum and I really need help please.
    I did bit of research and followed the complete guide and managed to softmod (well.. I believe I did [​IMG]) my wii.
    Prior to softmod my wii was updated to latest 4.2 and never softmoded before.
    Now it's softmoded and homebrew installed.
    Here are few questions I'd like to ask.

- How do you know whether it's fully softmoded? What kinds of stuff needs to be installed to be fully softmoded? (I've installed BootMii, Trucha bug. is that it?)
    - When I put my original game CD, it says "in order to use this software, you must perform a wii system update". does that mean you are never gonna be able to use original CD after softmod?
    - What happens if you do wii system update? Can I do it, if I want to change it back to pre-softmod status?
    - Once you softmod, can you play games from USB which is in different region? (e.g. Japanese region games?)

I'm sorry in case I'm asking noob questions but I really need to help and googling seems not really giving me an answer.
    I guess you guys are wii experts and I'm looking forward to hearing from you. Many thanks in advance!!

2. SiiMiiWiiWii

Newcomer SiiMiiWiiWii Newbie

United States
    Hi Shaun169,
    I was looking for some info myself and came across your post. I can help with a little, but I am no expert myself. I have a couple of the same questions myself. Here's what I got:

-How do you know whether it's fully softmoded? What kinds of stuff needs to be installed to be fully softmoded? (I've installed BootMii, Trucha bug. is that it?)