Hacking Faulty CIA

Rayqu

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 2, 2017
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
79
XP
76
Country
Lithuania
So yesterday I was uploading a few new games into my sd card to install them through fbi, but one of the CIAs messed up my sd card and i had to reformat it. This of course deleted everything in the sd card. Now the question is, do I have to reinstall Homebrew? This has happened to me before, and there was a suggestion to follow 3ds hacks guide from a certain step, but I cannot remember where I had posted the question. So what should I do?
 

fmkid

Just another GBATemp's random guy
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2015
Messages
1,914
Trophies
0
XP
1,397
Country
Colombia
So yesterday I was uploading a few new games into my sd card to install them through fbi, but one of the CIAs messed up my sd card and i had to reformat it. This of course deleted everything in the sd card. Now the question is, do I have to reinstall Homebrew? This has happened to me before, and there was a suggestion to follow 3ds hacks guide from a certain step, but I cannot remember where I had posted the question. So what should I do?
Yes. And it would be this:

https://3ds.hacks.guide/finalizing-setup.html
 

Rayqu

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 2, 2017
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
79
XP
76
Country
Lithuania

Attachments

  • IMG_20201024_220123.jpg
    IMG_20201024_220123.jpg
    804.8 KB · Views: 131

fmkid

Just another GBATemp's random guy
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2015
Messages
1,914
Trophies
0
XP
1,397
Country
Colombia
So during Section 3 this is what happens. What should I do?
Select another 3DS app (in change of "Download Play"), except "Health & Safety" or "Faceraiders", and try again

And check if you have the "boot.3dsx" file from Homebrew Launcher on root of the SD card.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

If you don't have that file, then download from here and put it on the root of the SD card:

https://github.com/fincs/new-hbmenu/releases/latest
 

Rayqu

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 2, 2017
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
79
XP
76
Country
Lithuania
Select another 3DS app (in change of "Download Play"), except "Health & Safety" or "Faceraiders", and try again

And check if you have the "boot.3dsx" file from Homebrew Launcher on root of the SD card.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

If you don't have that file, then download from here and put it on the root of the SD card:

https://github.com/fincs/new-hbmenu/releases/latest
Thanks, now im on section 6 and when I hold START during boot my screen just goes black. Its fine if im not holding the start button
 

fmkid

Just another GBATemp's random guy
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2015
Messages
1,914
Trophies
0
XP
1,397
Country
Colombia
Yes, I just rechecked it and everything is where it should be
Do you have the GodMode9.firm file (from GM9 1.9.2 pre-release) on "sd:/luma/payloads/" location on your SD?

If you will, put a copy from that same .firm file on the same location, but with a different name (e.g. Godmode9-1.firm). Although, it shouldn't be necessary
 
Last edited by fmkid,

Rayqu

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 2, 2017
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
79
XP
76
Country
Lithuania
Do you have the GodMode9.firm file (from GM9 1.9.2 pre-release) on "sd:/luma/payloads/" location on your SD?

If you will, put a copy from that same .firm file on the same location, but with a different name (e.g. Godmode9-1.firm). Although, it shouldn't be necessary
Yup I had the file there. Did do what you suggested, but the same thing occurs. Hmm, what if I reset my 3ds factory settings and just start the guide from the beginning? Or would that brick my 3ds or something?
 

fmkid

Just another GBATemp's random guy
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2015
Messages
1,914
Trophies
0
XP
1,397
Country
Colombia
Then, perharps your SD card is damaged/faulty. The recommended step to check it is this (or just change it for another good one), and later repeat the tutorial:

https://gbatemp.net/threads/new-2ds-xl-microsd-card-error.534480/#post-8569741

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Edit: Just to confirm... Are you using the very latest version of Luma CFW (10.2) or what are you using?
 

Rayqu

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 2, 2017
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
79
XP
76
Country
Lithuania
Then, perharps your SD card is damaged/faulty. The recommended step to check it is this (or just change it for another good one), and later repeat the tutorial:

https://gbatemp.net/threads/new-2ds-xl-microsd-card-error.534480/#post-8569741

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Edit: Just to confirm... Are you using the very latest version of Luma CFW (10.2) or what are you using?
I dont really know, I hacked my 3ds around 3 years ago, then last year, I think, the same thing happened as now, but I just followed the finishing up part of the tutorial and it went fine. So it might be an old version. As I said, could I factory reset my 3ds and just re-do the tutorial?
 

lone_wolf323

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
4,434
Trophies
1
XP
3,476
Country
Canada
I dont really know, I hacked my 3ds around 3 years ago, then last year, I think, the same thing happened as now, but I just followed the finishing up part of the tutorial and it went fine. So it might be an old version. As I said, could I factory reset my 3ds and just re-do the tutorial?
Factory restore will never uninstall cfw. its not recommended at all for troubleshooting.
 

Rayqu

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 2, 2017
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
79
XP
76
Country
Lithuania
Then, perharps your SD card is damaged/faulty. The recommended step to check it is this (or just change it for another good one), and later repeat the tutorial:

https://gbatemp.net/threads/new-2ds-xl-microsd-card-error.534480/#post-8569741

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Edit: Just to confirm... Are you using the very latest version of Luma CFW (10.2) or what are you using?
Ok so I went into the luma app and it says that the version is 10.0.1. If I update it, would that fix the problem?
 

fmkid

Just another GBATemp's random guy
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2015
Messages
1,914
Trophies
0
XP
1,397
Country
Colombia
Ok so I went into the luma app and it says that the version is 10.0.1. If I update it, would that fix the problem?
Yes. Try with that, just to see... If doesn't change, then check your SD to discard errors on it
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: My condolences :(