FAT16 or FAT32

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Blazikun, Apr 12, 2010.

Apr 12, 2010

FAT16 or FAT32 by Blazikun at 3:21 PM (1,945 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Blazikun
    OP

    Member Blazikun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    51n30, 0w10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was just wondering - wuts better for my r4? fat 16 formatted card or fat32 formatted?
     
  2. Kwartel

    Member Kwartel The fairest in all the land

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,298
    Country:
    Netherlands
    doesn't care. 16's filesize max is 2 gb and 32's 4 gb. But since ds roms aren't that big...
     
  3. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,802
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If you got the original R4, FAT16 means your going to be using the 8.3 filenames. FAT32 means you can use long filenames.

    The max capacity of the original R4 is 2GB. So it didn't mater what format you used. With every other flashcart now with SDHC support, anything above 2GB is to be formated FAT32.
     
  4. Damian666

    Member Damian666 Coder from Hell

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    In your code...
    Country:
    Netherlands
    hmm... i beg to differ...

    depending on your card, fat16 can be much faster then fat32 actually...

    Damian666
     
  5. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,802
    Country:
    Antarctica
    beg to differ with what ... I never gave a preference.

    Lame, you confuse a list of facts for a preference.
     
  6. Damian666

    Member Damian666 Coder from Hell

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    In your code...
    Country:
    Netherlands
    nonono, you didnt get me xD

    i understand thats a list of facts, im just stating another fact.

    he asks whats better, and because you guys only talked about size etc, i had to disagree with that point, because speed is also a factor, hell, some games wont even fucking boot when i use fat32 >.<

    Damian666

    ps. no need to start calling me lame for a post ya know xD
     
  7. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,802
    Country:
    Antarctica
    There is no speed difference of the original R4 between FAT16 and FAT32.

    There is a speed difference on some flashcarts with SDHC, where FAT16 is faster in most cases. Other than that, Class 6 and higher remove that difference in speed, unless you got a bad flashcart or clone.


    @Damin666
    It is to that comment only and not you in general. I don't even think the OP will be back to even read this in time.
     
  8. Damian666

    Member Damian666 Coder from Hell

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    In your code...
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ah ok [​IMG] , and yes, its not really a problem on "real" R4, but on clones etc, it does make a difference [​IMG]

    Damian666
     
  9. Blazikun
    OP

    Member Blazikun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    51n30, 0w10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok. good. so i can keep my FAT16 file. i want to boot a 256mb file. and yes, when trimmed, its 255mb.
     

Share This Page