Failed to read DVD 263 when trying to load Gamecube games

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by lucablight, Dec 5, 2010.

  1. lucablight
    OP

    Newcomer lucablight Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Australia
    I have been trying to load gamecube games using Wiigators gamecube backup launcher. I have tried both Resident evil (remake) and Tales of symphonia (just the first discs).
    I have tried burning them both onto TDK DVD-R using both 2x and 4x. Everytime I load the backup launcher I get an error message saying "failed to read DVD 263" and when I press a button on the Wiimote the console restarts.

    Is the most likely scenario the DVD media not being compatible with the Wii? Should I try a different brand? Or is it possible I may need to install some other cIOS/other programs?
     
  2. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Use cIOS rev 20 Base 56.
    Use Verbatim DVD-R
    Make sure your wii is capable of playing DVD discs (Not a D3-2 Drive)
    Are they good rips ?
    Use the latest Neogamma R9 beta.

    WOOT WOOT 1000th post
     
  3. lucablight
    OP

    Newcomer lucablight Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Australia
    If I have a D3-2 drive will it ever be possible to launch gamecube backups?
     
  4. SickPuppy

    Member SickPuppy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Country:
    United States
    If you have a D3-2 drive, it is currently not possible to use backup discs.

    But come on, who knows if it will ever be possible? A fortune teller?

    You can buy a Wode or Sundriver, that will get your gamecube backups working.
     
  5. lucablight
    OP

    Newcomer lucablight Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks I believe you may have solved the problem. Is it possible to swap it with an older one that will work?
     
  6. SickPuppy

    Member SickPuppy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Country:
    United States
    Yea, I think you can swap drives, but why not just use the older wii without removing the drive?
     
  7. lucablight
    OP

    Newcomer lucablight Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Australia
    I don't have an older Wii. I was thinking of going on Ebay and seeing if there were any for sale. Thanks for your help.
     
  8. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    It would be alot of money to replace the drive. You mine as well get a used wii off ebay / pwnshop / craigslist etc.

    But make sure before you get a new one that this one is a D3-2 drive. When did you buy the wii ? Have you tried burning any wii games and trying those out.

    EDIT: I just saw your post above good luck [​IMG]
     
  9. lucablight
    OP

    Newcomer lucablight Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Australia
    I am pretty sure it is a D3-2 drive. If I did swap it out could I have to install all my cIOS again?
     
  10. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,570
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    No, the wii memory with your files, IOSes, cIOSes and saves is untouched, I swaped my D3-2 drive with my old D2C drive and everything works fine, I can play backups now fine! But when your searching a drive be careful that it's a old drive version, D3, D3-2 and D4 drives can't read backups.
     

Share This Page