Failed chiip install, blinkcode: SSSSSSLS

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by eddanx, Aug 10, 2007.

Aug 10, 2007
  1. eddanx
    OP

    Newcomer eddanx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Tried installing my chiip-programmed chip today, but got blinking code SSSSSSLS which should mean something is wrong with the I or C line. Wii (and the drive) still working properly, though. Opened up the wii again, and went through it all again, double and triple checking that I had connected it correctly. I've followed the instructions on the chiip wiki . Couldn't find anything wrong, so then I tried desoldering the I, C and O lines and soldering them on again (in case of a so called "cold" solder I've read about). Unfortunately, that didn't help.

    Next step would be to reprogram the chiip in case something went wrong there, but I don't have a LPT port at home so can't do that right now. Anyone else got any tips?

    Here are some pics I took. First one is after first attempt and second one is the second attempt. Does it look ok? Have I destroyed the solder points?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Thanks for any help, it is very much appreciated!
     
  2. eddanx
    OP

    Newcomer eddanx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Reprogrammed with latest stable and latest beta of Chiip, unfortunately no luck.. I'm about to give up on this, really annoying [​IMG]
     
  3. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    you sure you got no cut pins or d2c chipset? soldering looks alright...
     
  4. eddanx
    OP

    Newcomer eddanx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the reply!

    Chip on the drives reads G2C-D2B so I guess it's not d2c, then?

    Regarding cut pins, do you mean on the actual modchip with it's socket? Can't really see anything wrong. Unfortunately I don't have a multimeter, so I can't check the connections properly. But I'll probably invest in one or try to borrow one today or tomorrow.

    Thanks again, lenselijer, very much appriciated!

    Edit: Can I try to flash it with the OpenWii firmware without changing soldering points? I've got the ATmega8L-8PU uC DIL28 which should be the right one for OpenWii as well, right?
     
  5. acky

    Member acky GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Australia
    Are you sure it's not shorting?
     
  6. handiklap

    Newcomer handiklap Newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    In the first pic, is that solder that looks like it's joining the central point and the trace to the right of it? Possibly with the point on the upper left as well. My guess is shorting.
     
  7. eddanx
    OP

    Newcomer eddanx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    You guys are right, that could be a shorting. I'll see if I can clean it up. Thanks!

    Edit: Tried to clean it up to no avail. But I'll get a multimeter tomorrow so I can debug some more.
     
  8. Smack

    Member Smack GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    You could try OpenWii but probably have the same problem. You mentioned you resoldered the I O and C lines to your Wii, how about on your Chip or Socket, did you make sure you have that hooked up properly?

    I would double check everything especially your socket/chip wires.
     
  9. Strag0

    Member Strag0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    334
    Country:
    United States
    How about you take a photo of the chip for us. =D

    If you remove the chip does the Wii still work? I assume yes.
     
  10. Smack

    Member Smack GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Take a picture of your drive chip, I believe some of the D2B's had cut legs as well. Also lets see your Chiip and your socket.
     
  11. eddanx
    OP

    Newcomer eddanx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    This good enough?
    [​IMG]

    I'm off to get a multimeter now, report back in a couple of hours!

    Once again I have to thank you all for your suggestions! This is a really welcoming and extremely helpful forum!
     
  12. enochw

    Newcomer enochw Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Hong Kong
     
  13. eddanx
    OP

    Newcomer eddanx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. I have a multimeter!

    Using it I've now checked each wire going from the modchip to the board, and they're all fine. A nice clean sound indicating a connection from the multimeter for each of them. I've tested all the way from the actual legs on the modchip to the legs on the drive chip (that is, excluding the G and V which I just checked from the modchip and to the actual solder points on the drive).

    There are also no shortings. I've tested it for all the wires and all possible alternatives. I've also checked the surrounding solder points on the drive to make sure they are allright too.

    I've previously checked (many, many times) that each of the G,V,I,O and C wires go to the right spots, but sometimes you can't see your own mistakes. So.. Desperate as I am, I've "color coded" each wire and hereby give you these pics:

    Board:
    [​IMG]

    Chip (pic 1):
    [​IMG]

    Chip (pic 2):
    [​IMG]

    Any tips on where I go from here? See any legs cut off from the drive chip?
     
  14. eddanx
    OP

    Newcomer eddanx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    It works!

    All along it seems it was a problem with flashing the firmware. Flashed it using another friends computer today, and now suddenly it all works!

    Thanks to all you guys, hopefully this post at least can help others experiencing problems!
     
  15. Smack

    Member Smack GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Great to hear, and after we made you take all those lovely pictures [​IMG]

    Hopefully you can get your flashing problem fixed on your own computer although there hasn't been an update in months.
     
  16. eddanx
    OP

    Newcomer eddanx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Hehe, smack [​IMG]

    You guys all moved on to another firmware or what? Besides not being able to upgrade by DVD, I don't see anything wrong with chiip. And since there are no updates, it really doesn't matter [​IMG]
     
  17. Smack

    Member Smack GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    I am still on Chiip mainly cause I am damn low on DVD's and don't wanna waste one on an upgrade disc. I have had few problems with my Chiip other than it misbehaving very rarely. Sometimes after switching games it will not work properly, or upon reset no longer play backups. This has happened maybe 3 times and each time once I unplug the Wii and plug it back in the Chiip has been fine.

    I don't play imports or anything so the Chiip has been just fine but I am always open to other options. I have used OpenWii in the past and it works just as well.
     

Share This Page