EZFlash Vi random freezes with SD card

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by Empir, Mar 1, 2009.

Mar 1, 2009
  1. Empir
    OP

    Newcomer Empir Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Argentina
    I'm using the EZFlash Vi with a Nintendo DS Lite, and I experience random freezings in the games (Some examples: Etrian Odyssey, Front Mission, Space Invaders). I know there is a problem with the current kernel for it (1.90 open beta 8) where it freezes with SDCH cards, but I'm pretty sure mine is not a SDCH card (it's a 2gb SD Kingston card). Are these random freezes part of the normal operation of the cart? Is something wrong with it? Or is it just the same problem than with SDCH cards?
    Thanks for answering.
     
  2. triften

    Newcomer triften Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    I believe the problem lies within the EZ-Flash Vi firmware. Mine freezes often with 8GB Kingston microSDHC.

    It might react the same way with any Kingston brand. I cannot confirm, though. The good news is new firmware should be released soon. [​IMG]
     
  3. KennYMcCormick

    Newcomer KennYMcCormick Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    France
    Mine freezes randomly and of course, i have a 2Gb Kingston MicroSD card...
    I hope for a new firmware soon... [​IMG]
     
  4. DoornicK

    Newcomer DoornicK Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Argentina
  5. triften

    Newcomer triften Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    And not a second too soon! There is an updated resetsp.bin file that addresses a host of software problems, which includes a fix for Peggle Dual Shot (U). [​IMG] Get it HERE.
     
  6. rommy667

    Member rommy667 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Down the road around the corner
    Country:
    Ireland
    I swiched to eazyflash from R4sdhc and man im sorry the dam thing keeps freezing at boot up even though I updated the kernal from v3 to v5 and im using the newest 09 beta,once I get it booted (can take up to 4 goes) it usually is fine when playing games for all the bashing the r4 gets around here ive never has it freeze once on me,id use the r4 and gba explorer but i find the flshing menu so confusing it wont show how much nor is free and i cant seem to find a list of flashed stuff....ive used a 2 gig non sdhc and a 4 gig kinston and a 8 gig verbatim all still freeze so after a long rant get ya self a r4 and the slot 2 cart ........
     
  7. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I'm sorry but your post is really unreadable. [​IMG]

    So first. Have you done the firmware update revision 5 on your EZ5i (see picture) ?

    [​IMG]

    I'm not talking about kernel update here, but firmware.
     
  8. rommy667

    Member rommy667 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Down the road around the corner
    Country:
    Ireland
    Sorry about long rant lol but yes ive done as u said in the pictures it was at firmware v3 now its at firmwarev5 still acts same [​IMG]
     
  9. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Ok. So prehaps give a shot to this :
    - Backup one of your microSD on your PC (first try with the smaller 2GB)
    - download Panasonic SD formatter which is the official tool to format microSD.
    - install the program and format your microSD with it
    - copy back your data (kernel 1.90OB9 of course)
    - gives another try
     
  10. rommy667

    Member rommy667 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Down the road around the corner
    Country:
    Ireland
    Ok i did as you said and it seemes to have improved a bit the 4 gig kingston seemes so far to be freeze free however the verb 8 gig and the 2 gig still freeze well at least i got 1 working thanks for your help ccosmos man [​IMG]
     
  11. rommy667

    Member rommy667 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Down the road around the corner
    Country:
    Ireland
    Ok i did as you said and it seemes to have improved a bit the 4 gig kingston seemes so far to be freeze free however the verb 8 gig and the 2 gig still freeze well at least i got 1 working thanks for your help ccosmos man [​IMG]
     
  12. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    OK. Thanks for the feedback.
    What is the brand and "made in" of your 2GB and 8GB microSD ?
    Where did you buy it ?
     
  13. rommy667

    Member rommy667 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Down the road around the corner
    Country:
    Ireland
    Just saw your reply,ok the 2 gig sd is kingston made in japan same as the 4 gig, the verbatim was made in Taiwan. All cards are class 4 and all work perfect in my older r4 sdhc.I bought all of the cards in a local shop and just missed the 8 gig kingston [​IMG]
     
  14. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Try panasonic formatter on your 2GB and 8GB and click option.
    Use Full erase ON and Format size adjustment ON.
     
  15. thiagoauler

    Newcomer thiagoauler Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Brazil
    How do I know the firmware version of my EZFlash Vi???
    Is it really safe to update the firmware?
    How long the update proccess will take (minutes or seconds)?
     
  16. AFZ

    Newcomer AFZ Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Pakistan
    Hey im new to this and i have no idea wat to do, i just messed up my card. I need GUIDANCE, ive got the latest MOONSHELL thing and the kernel, but this firmware, how do i update it? wat do i do? i placed the firware update folder in my card and it got screwed :S
     

Share This Page