EZFlash V 3in1 problems

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by CrvyloOo, Feb 7, 2011.

Feb 7, 2011

EZFlash V 3in1 problems by CrvyloOo at 8:25 PM (1,374 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. CrvyloOo
    OP

    Member CrvyloOo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    /v/
    Country:
    United States
    So I have an AceKard 2 running the most recent AKAIO firmware, and a white EZFlash V 3in1. When I first purchased the EZFlash V, it worked perfectly fine with no problems. However I hadn't used it or played any GBA games for a while, though I kept the EZFlash V in the GBA slot of my DS Lite. I just recently tried to load up and play some GBA games, but I am having problems. The problem seems to be that the AceKard just doesn't seem to think the EZFlash is there at all anymore. So is there any way to fix this?
     
  2. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Pull out the 3in1 and put it back in then turn on the DS. Otherwise try using a volt meter to see if the battery died or is below 2.7V.

    If you have the 3in1 with the EZ5C11 printed on the board, you might have problems getting it to work with AKAIO. From other people in the forum, AKAIO doesn't support all the versions of the 3in1 and has a reset issue with the ones it has issues with. You might be unlucky enough to have that version.
     
  3. CrvyloOo
    OP

    Member CrvyloOo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    /v/
    Country:
    United States
    I unfortunately do not have a volt meter, but how do I check the board for the EZ5C11? As in, where am I looking?
     
  4. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    use the first link in sig to compare. You use a screwdriver and open it up to look.
     
  5. CrvyloOo
    OP

    Member CrvyloOo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    /v/
    Country:
    United States
    So I checked it out and it is indeed an EZ5C11. What can I do about it? I meant it used to work perfectly fine!
     
  6. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Not much you can do.

    You can use the EZ-Flash V again or try getting a different 3in1.

    You can copy the ak2_sd.dldi from the official firmware in the __ak2 to your __aio folder on your MicroSD, overwriting the AKAIO ak2_sd.dldi. This might fix your 3in1 issue.
     
  7. CrvyloOo
    OP

    Member CrvyloOo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    /v/
    Country:
    United States
    Well, that didn't work. Guess I'll have to get a new one, eh?
     
  8. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Try changing setting on AKAIO for the 3in1 before you do that.
     
  9. CrvyloOo
    OP

    Member CrvyloOo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    /v/
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, did that and just said it was not found.
     
  10. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Your gonna have to get a different one then.
     
  11. CrvyloOo
    OP

    Member CrvyloOo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    /v/
    Country:
    United States
    Which one should I be on the lookout for?
     
  12. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    version 2 if possible. It has the least problems of all the versions. ID as EZ5C13, also known as New3in1 if your using gba exploader. Unfortunately your going to be getting one at random since most vendors do not know how to ID the version other than looking at the box, which doesn't give them any idea what version it is.

    Vendors that make some attempt at identifying what version it is:
    RHS : http://Realhotstuff.com/ | direct link to 3in1
     
  13. CrvyloOo
    OP

    Member CrvyloOo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    /v/
    Country:
    United States
    RealHotStuff is actually where I got this one (which as I stated worked perfectly in the beginning, so I don't doubt them) but I found this: http://www.0shippingzone.com/flash-expansi...plus-p-194.html on the second site and it seems to be cheaper. What do you think?

    Also, what do you think caused it to stop working for me?
     
  14. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I have samples from almost every vendor, it is a shot in the dark as to what you get.

    AKAIO detection routines doesn't encompass every known version. You can tell the AKAIO team that there is a 3in1 that is not being detected and see if they will eventually add it in a future release. Other than that there is no immediate fix if you want to use AKAIO's loader.

    You can try using GBA Exploader 0.58b, which does detect it correctly. That is why I have pictures of the EZ5C11 in the guide.
     
  15. CrvyloOo
    OP

    Member CrvyloOo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    /v/
    Country:
    United States
    I used the GBA Exploader and that didn't detect it either. Which makes me think it isn't the AKAIO firmware or anything (especially since it worked before) but simply it broke or something. I guess I have dropped my DS Lite a couple of times.
     
  16. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You will have to buy from somewhere else and hope it isn't another EZ5C11 that doesn't work.
     

Share This Page