EZ-Flash IV nor not work!

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by jaky, Jan 23, 2014.

  1. jaky
    OP

    jaky Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Jan 22, 2014
    hi there
    My ez-flash iv psram is good working.
    but all kind of gba gmae does not work!
    small or big gba rom have same problem.

    if i press select button at gba rom.
    i saw erasing and Writing .
    but there is no gba rom for nor flash at any directory.

    I had a video shoot about this problem.
    And please answer.

    http://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=c4-feed-u&v=R2WZtoPyIhU
     


  2. FAST6191

    FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip Reporter
    23,360
    9,150
    Nov 21, 2005
    Is that a Korean version of one of the Dragon Ball Z games? Does it have a hack applied to it? Sometimes hacks have been seen to cause issues when writing to the NOR, you can fix it easily http://ezflash.sosuke.com/viewtopic.php?p=74881#p74881 (patch or hex editor if you can/prefer).
    Do all games do this?

    Also are you using a miniSD or a microSD to miniSD adapter? That video seems a bit quick and a dodgy connection like you frequently get will see it move a bit faster than it should. That said if the PSRAM works then it is probably not the case.
     
  3. Naffats

    Naffats Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    0
    Jan 21, 2014
    Hey there, I already commented on your youtube video but yea... I've got the exact same NOR problem on my EZ Flash IV. Bought mine of 3ds-flashcart.com. Really sucks.

    I'm using a miniSD formatted to FAT16, everything else is sweet but the NOR it's like it's not even there. The writing to it seems way to quick as well. Mother 3 (unpatched rom) takes only 34 secs to load up to 255Mb, it then freezes for about 16 seconds and then just like you: NOTHING.
     
  4. jaky
    OP

    jaky Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Jan 22, 2014
    I have mini sd 2GB and micro sd 2GB with mini adapter.
    but same problem.
     
  5. Count Duckula

    Count Duckula .

    Member
    618
    152
    Aug 17, 2008
    Australia
  6. jaky
    OP

    jaky Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Jan 22, 2014
    FAST6191//Thank you for your answers.
    That is not HACK rom file.
    and all kind of gbarom have same nor problem.

    Count Duckula// Thank you for your answers.
    I had to use Clearlooks v3.
    but Still does not work NOR Memory.

    anway i want to fix my EZ-Flash iv.
    Please answer if you know.
     
  7. jaky
    OP

    jaky Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Jan 22, 2014
  8. FAST6191

    FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip Reporter
    23,360
    9,150
    Nov 21, 2005
    Hmm I had not seen the new "updates". It seems to only be the ez_flash.bin file which did very little other than cheats and soft reset if memory serves, though on top of that the other files are far older in that client pack. I shall have to look further there. Also if they did make a new run in December then why they stuck with miniSD I have no idea.

    Either way though it should not do anything to trouble the NOR memory.

    Edit. Took at look at ez_flash.bin in a hex editor. I am seeing things like pass and ezpda in it... that would seem to indicate loader. Very odd indeed.
    Try taking that file and putting it on the miniSD root and holding R when booting up. You may have to rename it ezfla_up.bin instead.
     
  9. Vetches

    Vetches Member

    Newcomer
    22
    0
    Jan 17, 2014
    United States
    Referring to what FAST6191 said, I'm gonna go try it out and see what happens.
     
  10. Vetches

    Vetches Member

    Newcomer
    22
    0
    Jan 17, 2014
    United States
    Well, tried it, and it updated incredibly quick, until about 86%, when it stopped and said "Restart. No_Loader_found."
     
  11. Vetches

    Vetches Member

    Newcomer
    22
    0
    Jan 17, 2014
    United States
    Is it possible to try loading up both .bins? As in load up the one already in it, then rename the other one and load that too? Or is that just a no-go for some reason?
     
  12. FAST6191

    FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip Reporter
    23,360
    9,150
    Nov 21, 2005
    Just checked properly, the ez_flash.bin file is a fraction the size of a normal loader. As most of that is the images that make up the others I might have to try something else. Sadly the skinning programs did nothing and I am not sure about doing it manually right now. I am working on it though.

    Edit. compared it against the one from my usual EZ4client pack and it appears to be an entirely different file.
     
  13. Vetches

    Vetches Member

    Newcomer
    22
    0
    Jan 17, 2014
    United States
    Thanks for the help, really helping us noobs out with this, it means a lot. :)
     
  14. FAST6191

    FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip Reporter
    23,360
    9,150
    Nov 21, 2005
    Did some basic fiddling.

    The new loader is a functional GBA/DS program. It is a fraction of the size of the original ezfla_up.bin and contains some very different strings and other things once you get past the header

    I ran the old EZ4 loader as a gba file. Loaded up garbled versions of the menu. Both DS and GBA booting for this.
    I ran the new loader as a GBA file. It tried to update my loader using an ezlfa_up.bin file. Again for both the GBA and DS booting side of things.
    I ran the ez_flash.bin as an update by renaming it and holding R on boot (I thought why not risk it), it flashed itself and just tries to update every boot. This is probably as it is a update program of some form.

    If I was doing it then it would be that the new file is some kind of patching update loader. Why they might do that rather than put out a new loader I have no idea. Also I wrote a 4 megabyte ROM to my NOR afterwards and it worked fine, I have an old EZ4 with great condition NOR though so I would not read anything into that.

    On a different note and for the forum searchers I wonder if this could be abused as a brick recovery program for those that bricked their EZ4 with a DS slot program.

    More research called for it seems.
     
  15. Vetches

    Vetches Member

    Newcomer
    22
    0
    Jan 17, 2014
    United States
    Well, let's keep hoping. :D
     
  16. Vetches

    Vetches Member

    Newcomer
    22
    0
    Jan 17, 2014
    United States
    Bump :S
     
  17. FAST6191

    FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip Reporter
    23,360
    9,150
    Nov 21, 2005
  18. Vetches

    Vetches Member

    Newcomer
    22
    0
    Jan 17, 2014
    United States
  19. FAST6191

    FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip Reporter
    23,360
    9,150
    Nov 21, 2005
    I still have not checked the skinning tools, some of the font ones were made to work on specific builds but the regular skinning tools probably should still work (it is only a basic version of GBFS that is used and that is all well understood).

    That said I have really never seen the problem with the star wars skin, though this might be an example of why we do not get me to make things look pretty.
     
  20. jaky
    OP

    jaky Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Jan 22, 2014
    Thank you very much for your answer.
    "Release.bin" file was used.
    So My "ez-flash iv nor memory" had this normal operation.