EZ flash 3in1 NDS save backup with R4DS help.

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by Karpador, Aug 13, 2008.

Aug 13, 2008
  1. Karpador
    OP

    Newcomer Karpador Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, about a month ago, i got my ez-flash 3in1 and Rudolph's NDS Backup Tool version 0.3
    all of a sudden, it decided to not continue the process. i have tried version 0.31 also and it does not work. everything else i have tried with the ex-flash 3in1 works. this is exactly step by step on what i do.

    1.have my R4DS and EZ-flash 3in1 in my ds
    2. Turn on DS
    3.Start the NDS Backup Tool
    4.press B to make a new save or press a to overwrite an existing
    5. take out R4 and put in pokemon diamond (note* it dosent work with anygame)
    6. the program shuts off my ds by pressing the a button.
    7. turn on the ds (with R4)
    8. select the NDS backup tool again
    9. X it only lets me contine the backup about 1% of the time.

    am i doing something wrong?
     
  2. striderx

    Member striderx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    No Karpador, it sounds like you're doing the right things...

    How much space do you have left on the microSD card? Backing up the ROM will require much more space than the save file, but a fragmented card could make life difficult for the file creation by the R4/NDS Backup tool application.

    I would back up the microSD card, format it and then only copy over the essential files to start with (the R4 kernel, NDS Backup, etc...) and try again.

    Other things to think about...

    Within the past 3-6months, the ASIC used for the 3-in-1 changed because of supplier issues. Rudolph had to update his Exploder application to support it. But he hasn't released an update to the NDS Backup 3-in-1 since v 0.31. Perhaps you're encountering a hardware/software bug caused by that? My 3-in-1 is about a year old and I haven't experienced this problem.

    Here's another thing to consider... Have the DS plugged into the AC adapter when you do this.

    Good luck!

    striderx
     
  3. Karpador
    OP

    Newcomer Karpador Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    having the DS plugged in could work?... leme try...NOPE
    i have like 500 mb and i already formated and tried a different micro SD
    sigh... i dont know what to do [​IMG]

    p.s. i have also tried it on another ds and it does not work
     
  4. striderx

    Member striderx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Awww man, this sucks... ('cuz I do this .sav backup and restore all the time).

    Your messages tell me you're doing the right things. [​IMG]

    500MB of space is plenty. The .sav files are only about 512kB.

    What version of the R4 kernel are you using? I'm on 1.18 English.

    As for the power supply, I've seen other electronics, not necessarily a DS, act flakely with marginal power. If your battery was getting tired, having the AC plugged in would eliminate that as a possible cause.

    striderx
     
  5. Karpador
    OP

    Newcomer Karpador Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    come to think of it.... i does seem to work more often when my DS is fully charge but.... it doesnt work in any of my friends DS's. i think its just a coincidence

    What version of the R4 kernel are you using? mhm... i dont know i last updated it a month and a half ago
     

Share This Page