Expansion Pack

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by miksu3, Sep 11, 2010.

Sep 11, 2010

Expansion Pack by miksu3 at 5:55 PM (1,194 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. miksu3
    OP

    Newcomer miksu3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Finland
    I bought Nintendos DS Lite Browser with Expansion Pack. I wanted try to play GBA roms with my R4 Ultra but when I placed expansion pack in DS and used GBA Exploner program it just said that there are no expansion pack. So what´s wrong? : /
     
  2. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. miksu3
    OP

    Newcomer miksu3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Finland
    Damnt, useless bought.
     
  4. emigre

    Member emigre Has complex motives

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,919
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    YOu can use it as ram expansion for some homebrew like Quake DS I beleive
     
  5. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    >Nintendos DS Lite Browser with Expansion Pack
    Using GBA_Exploader, GBAs
     
  6. Mario92

    Member Mario92 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Location:
    Finland
    Country:
    Finland
     
  7. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
     
  8. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    The reason you can't use it for GBA files is that the GBA, by design, starts execution at hex address 0x8000000 and the Opera RAM expansion pack only allows you to write to address 0x9000000 and above. Possibly this was done so that the DS doesn't accidentally identify it as a valid GBA game instead of the expansion pack that it truly is. Point is, you can't load a GBA game to it and have it work, though certain homebrew programs can be coded to make use of the extra RAM.
     
  9. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    Oops sorry you are right, DanTheManMS...
     
  10. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,827
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
     
  11. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    EZ3in1+ requires special treatment.
    GBA_Exploader 0.58b has a bug in writing to NOR(NOR isn't enabled until you power off then power on)
    Some softwares are reported not to work with EZ3in1+
    and...
     

Share This Page