ROM Hack Error injecting AC:NL savefile?

homigura

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
70
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
118
Country
Brazil
Hello there!:yay:
I've ran on some problems already, but they were all related to Pokémon... I managed to fix them unninstalling/reinstalling .cia ; deleting secure values ; just opening my save and changing something with PkHex,to change the last modified date or whatsoever.

Now i have a problem with another game : Animal Crossing New Leaf.
In advance: My savegames weren't modified in any way,they are 'virgin' per say.

So, here's the deal : I've been backing up my saves in order to inject MATTKIMURA's savefiles, just to transfer some items to another 3ds.
Everything worked like a charm, injected his savefile, trasnfered items to another 3ds, injected my original savefile, good to go.
Now, i managed to get a .cia of the game (i have the retail version, so no piracy here.) , and i simply can't inject any save to it. Not 2015's saves, 2014's saves,nothing.
I've tried : Reinstalling AC:NL ; Deleting secure values before and after savefile injection ; Delete savefile through the game and try to inject a new one.
None of those things stated up have worked...
So, anyone knows a fix for that? I keep getting the following error :


gUzSjlC.jpg


I'm willing to test what you tell me to do ^^
PS : Why do i want both .3dz and .cia working? Because i want my original savefile on .cia, and want to inject downloaded savefiles into my .3dz . It's easier than having to inject my original savefile everytime i want to play the game.

Thanks, TEMPers!:nds:
 

shinyquagsire23

SALT/Sm4sh Leak Guy
Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2012
Messages
1,970
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Las Vegas
XP
3,638
Country
United States
Looks like the anti-savegame restore thing was triggered. Animal Crossing New Leaf is one of the titles which uses it. Cartridge games don't run into this issue, but .cias do. No idea where that value is located though, haven't popped open my save to check yet.

EDIT: More info on it here: http://3dbrew.org/wiki/Anti_Savegame_Restore
 

MattKimura

3DS & WiiU Enthusiast
Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2014
Messages
2,133
Trophies
1
XP
2,776
Country
United States
To be honest, I have no idea how well these saves work with .cia. I never used savedatafiler with cia games, Only .3dz games.
I think I read in the original thread that someone got it to work on cia after some errors. I shared the saves with the intention of using the .3dz american rom. It's a backup of my own cartridge and can be injected into cartridge roms without fail as long as it's the same region.
I really don't know what to tell you, I'm not an expert with SaveDataFiler.

Edit: Maybe a solution will be to have a copy of the rom on your micro SD, that will always keep your real save file. While the other rom is used to inject the saves.
 
  • Like
Reactions: homigura

homigura

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
70
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
118
Country
Brazil
Edit: Maybe a solution will be to have a copy of the rom on your micro SD, that will always keep your real save file. While the other rom is used to inject the saves.
That's what i'm trying to do ... Use my .cia with my own game save file, and the .3dz to inject yours ^^
 

shinyquagsire23

SALT/Sm4sh Leak Guy
Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2012
Messages
1,970
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Las Vegas
XP
3,638
Country
United States
I might try to transfer my own save to .cia for science, I'll report back once I do it. My guess is that there's just a 4 byte anti-savegame restore put in place to prevent duping items, and transferring to .cia causes this to actually trigger (this isn't checked on cartridges).
 

MattKimura

3DS & WiiU Enthusiast
Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2014
Messages
2,133
Trophies
1
XP
2,776
Country
United States
That's what i'm trying to do ... Use my .cia with my own game save file, and the .3dz to inject yours ^^

I meant two .3dz files, and just memorize which one is yours on the list.
It MIGHT be possible to inject any kind of saves into cia games like ACNL, maybe some temper would be able to figure it out.
 
  • Like
Reactions: homigura

shinyquagsire23

SALT/Sm4sh Leak Guy
Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2012
Messages
1,970
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Las Vegas
XP
3,638
Country
United States
I meant two .3dz files, and just memorize which one is yours on the list.
It MIGHT be possible to inject any kind of saves into cia games like ACNL, maybe some temper would be able to figure it out.

It's most certainly possible (at least with Smash), the only particular problem with this one is that .cia games with the anti-savegame restore thing will specifically require a certain few bytes in places to prevent you from going "back in time" with your saves. Makes save editing and save research a pain.
 

MattKimura

3DS & WiiU Enthusiast
Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2014
Messages
2,133
Trophies
1
XP
2,776
Country
United States
It's most certainly possible (at least with Smash), the only particular problem with this one is that .cia games with the anti-savegame restore thing will specifically require a certain few bytes in places to prevent you from going "back in time" with your saves. Makes save editing and save research a pain.

Whatever you guys figure out about getting saves to work with the cia version of the game, I'll add it to my save thread so nobody would have to worry about this problem. I should warn them about the cia version though, for now.
 
  • Like
Reactions: homigura

shinyquagsire23

SALT/Sm4sh Leak Guy
Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2012
Messages
1,970
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Las Vegas
XP
3,638
Country
United States
Apparently Animal Crossing uses both the anti-savegame restore as well as a checksum check, so this might be a bit tricker than it was for Smash. I'll probably have to figure this out on my own time, might also do some save research while I'm at it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: homigura

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    You do realize other companies ship consoles right
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Correct. To other redistributors.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Didn't know that Lenovo sells them also.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Lenovo is a redistributer
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Nice to know that
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Cheapest I found $230 tax/s&h
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Sihuuu Taco Holder Stand set of 2 - Holds up to 3 tacos in each Taco Tray - Sturdy, Dishwasher and Microwave Safe https://a.co/d/6FFlct5 What kind of tacos are even in those racks
  • Veho @ Veho:
    What's that, ham and cheese?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I often stick some ham and cheese in a tortilla and toast it but I wouldn't dare call it a taco.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I guess ice cream in a taco is still a taco
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    The product placement in the fantasy football movie is werid it starts out with a psp then goes to the series x
  • Veho @ Veho:
    There's a fantasy football movie?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I bet you can't believe it's about Madden
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I can't believe it's not butter.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Lebron James did help produce it so it can't be that shit right
  • cearp @ cearp:
    kennie'snewname is now the old name???
    +2
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Woah! Kenny has changed their name?
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @cearp, Hey there!
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I prefer it/idiots as my pronouns thank you
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Lol theirs a cheat code for 30/60fps for new pOKEmoNz for ryujinx
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    So to have echo auto you need your phone connected to BT audio then the echo auto connected to your phone
    K3N1 @ K3N1: So to have echo auto you need your phone connected to BT audio then the echo auto connected to...