Emulators on the DSi

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by naveedy, Dec 21, 2008.

Dec 21, 2008

Emulators on the DSi by naveedy at 12:16 AM (1,757 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. naveedy
    OP

    Member naveedy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Iran
    Country:
    United States
    Are they compatible and do you still need to shrink the screen to make it fit the screen right.
     
  2. Hop2089

    Member Hop2089 Cute>Hot

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,810
    Country:
    United States
    Acekard2i=Access to all emulators for the DS just no slot-2 support.
     
  3. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    The screen is larger, not higher resolution.
     
  4. naveedy
    OP

    Member naveedy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Iran
    Country:
    United States
    So does that mean that the emulators actually run slower on the DSi?>
     
  5. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    from what i remember reading its is the exact same cpus but more ram.

    -another world
     
  6. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The DSi has the same processors, but more ram.

    In terms of the web browser, it makes processing the pages somewhat faster.

    In terms of emulation, you won't get anything faster out of it, but emulators like SNEmulDS and jenesisDS should be able to load larger ROMS. Beats me if the homebrew will need to be modified though.
     
  7. Sonicandtails

    Member Sonicandtails GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    It means it has the same amount of pixels, the pixels are just larger. It means that the emulators would still cut off the exact same amount of the game as before.
     
  8. dudereno

    Member dudereno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    All the following emulators work on the DSi

    StyxDS
    ZXDS
    Lameboy
    AmeDS
    ColecoDS
    DSmasterplus
    MarcaDS Arcade Emulator
    PomDS
    SNEmulds
    JEnesisDS
    NESDS
    PokeyDS

    There's prob a few more that work but have not been tested.
    source
     
  9. Edgedancer

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    I will just find it interesting to see if some coders actually develop DSi exclusive homebrew or just the same as always.
     
  10. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Not possible unless the DSi encryption is hacked. Normal DS games and flashcarts that were made to run on the DSi run is a DS compatibility mode which restricts them to only the hardware specs and hardware that a normal DS uses. So theya re locked out of the extra RAM, processing power, cameras, SD slot, DSiWare, etc.
     

Share This Page