Hacking DVD+R...

jcasas392

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
34
Trophies
0
XP
16
Country
United States
i dont know if this subject has been touched, but i thought i'd share it with you guys.

up to now i've always heard to use DVD-R with imgburn, or similar software...
it is true that when i've used DVD+R with imgburn they NEVER work. EVER. wont even load. but,
i have discovered, or at least think i have discovered, (or at least first to post) that you CAN in fact use
DVD+R, BUT, you have to burn using Nero Burning Rom. i'm 10/10 already. no glitches at all. i might even go
as far to say that i think my Quantum of Solace even loaded a little faster.

i am using nero 7 and burning using a Sony DRX-830U.
the discs are DYNEX DVD+R... and they're rewritable. i am going to try burning over a game and see if it works.
if it does, this will save me the hassle of burning a crappy game then getting stuck with it.

if someone else could try this, i would really appreciate it.
 

jcasas392

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
34
Trophies
0
XP
16
Country
United States
afif95 said:
Duhh, nero burning rom auto-bitsets to DVD-R that's why it worked

Well excuuuse me Mr. Wizard. lol. i kid, i kid. seriously though, i read these forums religiously and i haven't seen anything on this.
i don't think the average person is aware of Nero's fantastic auto-bitsetting feature. therefore, i find this post to be of extreme importance and
DEMAND THAT IT BE STICKIED IMMEDIATELY!!
 

Hells Guardian

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2008
Messages
1,113
Trophies
0
XP
115
Country
United States
I could have told you this long ago. It's been said at least a hundred times before that you can use dvd+r but you must use an app that either defaults too or allows you to change the bit setting of dvd-r
 

DJPlace

the hater of something i can't recall.
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
5,529
Trophies
1
XP
3,265
Country
United States
so i got some Verbatim+R's DVD's but i'm thinking about take them back... cause i would rather burn with dvd-r's even through i got one game with a dvd+r to work. and what's odd is i got it to work through the disc menu with out cios corps installed (and i'm serious too) so should i keep them? or should i just get my money back and also i use imgburn BTW.
 

lll

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2008
Messages
132
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
57
Country
You can use bitsetting in Imgburn, you just need to dig through the options to turn it on. Look for the option to set the booktype to DVD-ROM. It's under tools - drive - change book type.

Also, for modchip users it's usually not required to bitset +R media.
 

bhavinjpatel

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
44
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
-5
Country
United States
has anyone figured out how to change bitsetting or booksetting on a macbook pro i my drive is a MATSHITADVD-R UJ-867 please let me know if anyone has figrued it out
 

specht

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
234
Trophies
0
XP
895
Country
Canada
IMGBurn worked with the default settings for me with Memorex DVD+Rs.
For every game I have burnt.
 

SilverSurfR

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
245
Trophies
0
Location
NJ, USA
XP
56
Country
United States
facepalm2.png
 

ether2802

we have the techno...!!
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
4,349
Trophies
0
Age
39
Location
Pto. Vallarta
XP
292
Country
Mexico
bhavinjpatel said:
has anyone figured out how to change bitsetting or booksetting on a macbook pro i my drive is a MATSHITADVD-R UJ-867 please let me know if anyone has figrued it out

I don't think I have seen someone posting anything about this, but I'm on wind0ze, so I may ahven't really searched well nor care to search
laugh.gif
 

SilverSurfR

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
245
Trophies
0
Location
NJ, USA
XP
56
Country
United States
bhavinjpatel said:
has anyone figured out how to change bitsetting or booksetting on a macbook pro i my drive is a MATSHITADVD-R UJ-867 please let me know if anyone has figrued it out

Looks like your only bet is with this tool. http://www.plak.net/dvdplustool/

Only thing I could find about bitsetting on the mac, and the site claims it wont work with a superdrive, but I'm guessing older drives might have been -R only. Perhaps Apple should stop throwing around that "it just works" line.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Years gone by so quick