DVD Dumper Issues

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by harrybuttox, Dec 2, 2008.

Dec 2, 2008

DVD Dumper Issues by harrybuttox at 3:28 AM (1,319 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. harrybuttox
    OP

    Member harrybuttox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Country:
    United States
    Both USB, SD, and Network fail..

    USB will just say ERROR

    SD card I get a DSI occurred code dump

    and Network It works for 45 minutes with firefox and then just stops....


    what should I do? is there an application I could use to focus on my Wii's ip and download the iso without interruption?
     
  2. BIG MOE

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    there is people that doing it for you so why you wanna hastle with it just get it from them [​IMG]
     
  3. IronMask

    Member IronMask Official WiiStuntman First to Test ciosCorp!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Location:
    Somewhere in USA
    Country:
    United States
    Dude... I am with you... I have dumped some of my originals via wifi-firefox...I found out that my wifi sucks... I lose the connect frequently when using it... I recommend getting the usb-ethernet adapter for like $15 at Gamestop and that shouldn't happen anymore... It hasn't for me anyways... I've done like 10 since then... about the other support... I get the same as well... I thought it was the size of my flash drives...because I have an 8 and 16 gb flash drive on my Wii's for wads, roms and video...seeing I still can't access my network right on Mplayer... I have tried all the commands on the Mplayer thread as well...

    So good luck with ya..
     
  4. harrybuttox
    OP

    Member harrybuttox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks! the usb-ethernet adapter works like a charm.
     
  5. dmonkey21

    Member dmonkey21 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't sound like this has anything to do with your problem, but I'd just like to mention that dumping wii discs only works for me using firefox, maybe someone who has this problem will browse to this topic idk lol [​IMG]
     
  6. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    SD dumping is the fastest way to dump.
    sd has to be fat16 i think dumping in parts isn't hard either combining the files only takes a sec.
     
  7. Dteyn

    Member Dteyn GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    338
    Country:
    Canada
    Does the DVD Dumper support larger than 2gb flash drives? I just got a 8gb flash drive, would be great to use it to backup originals in one go.
     
  8. robman62

    Member robman62 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    United States
    how could I use a hard drive for this?
     
  9. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Wich dumper are you using?? how big is your SD??? and wich IOS did you install to have this working thru the SD??? I only can make it work Wi-Fi and Safari (for Win32) but 4hrs is to much time, don't you think??
     
  10. mcalistor

    Newcomer mcalistor Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    For me, SD is too much a PITA to keep swapping out. I'm waiting to hear of success using SDHC cards, then I might buy a 16gb card and let it run.

    For wireless, I tried Firefox (IE didn't work at all), but it would only run for a 1gb or so before is stalled. Then I tried WGET, which is a GNU freeware program that runs from the command line. It also bombed out around a 1gb or so, but it features a resume feature. It worked for one disc, but for another, it wouldn't resume properly after it timed out.

    I believe the problem is with my wireless setup. I keep thinking it's my router, but rebooting the router doesn't fix anything, only rebooting the Wii and resuming the transfer works.

    For me, I currently use Wiiftp to mount the DVD (I think only the lastest version can do this, 0.0.16). Then I use Filezilla (or use your fav ftp program) do download the file. It still bombs out a couple times per disc, but at least I've never had a problem resuming the download. Takes about 2.5 to 3 hours. So far, I've done at least one dump with each method, never a single problem with the iso. Oh yeah, I almost forgot, if you use Wiiftp, the img file is the same as an iso, or at least I think so. I just renamed it to .iso and ran the IOS patch against it to drop it down to IOS level 30. If anyone has any better ideas, I'm open for suggestions.

    I'm going to try the USB to Ethernet adapter solution tonight. It's a cheap $8.00 converter I bought off ebay a while back, so I'm not holding my breath, but it's promising that others have had some luck with them.

    Someday, I'll find a damn LG 816x dvd rom drive, but everyone is sold out, big surprise there, right?
     
  11. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    lol its ftpii not wiiftp [​IMG]
     
  12. mcalistor

    Newcomer mcalistor Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, that too... oops! [​IMG]
    Everything else with the wii is cutesy, maybe it should be somethine like FTwiiP. lol
     
  13. eric_4_life

    Member eric_4_life GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    Canada
    Does the wifi method use download bandwith? My ISP seems to think so, but I'm somewhat skeptical.
     
  14. thegoron

    Newcomer thegoron Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Ahh I was looking for the answer to this question also.
     
  15. mcalistor

    Newcomer mcalistor Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I'm confused, where does an ISP fit into this? I thought the wifi method was for transferring to a PC on the LAN, unless your using NAT to go through your router across the internet. I'm new to dumping from the wii, so I may be not understanding the theory here.

    Assuming you're talking about transfer to another location on the LAN, I believe the bottle neck is the wireless, which caps out around 500kbps, give or take 100k.
     

Share This Page