Dumping Commercial Games

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Dylaan, Aug 11, 2007.

Aug 11, 2007

Dumping Commercial Games by Dylaan at 4:15 AM (880 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Dylaan
    OP

    Member Dylaan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey, I had a quick flick around the forums, and I couldn't find too much about it, so here goes...

    I know Australia doesn't really get many games before other places, but how hard is it, and what would you need to dump a commercial NDS game? I only have an R4DS v1.11 with 1GB Kingston. I saw in the thread about lack of releases that apparently anyone can make a commercial dump?

    Please help! [​IMG]
     
  2. dbgtdob

    Member dbgtdob GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    588
    Country:
    United States
    you cant dump with a slot 1 flash card, ds games are encrypted, you will need to buy a slot 2 flash card like M3/G6, the ds has only 4mbs of memory where would it keep the rom data when you are switching the R4 out?

    anyways buy a slot 2 flash card like M3 CF (Dumpers say CF is the best for dumping roms)

    [​IMG]

    you then plug in your ds game in the ds slot and the M3 CF in the gba game slot, download and run the ds game dumping program.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Guide here.
    http://www.dualscene.net/viewpage.php?page_id=40
     
  3. aZnXrAvEr

    Member aZnXrAvEr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    United States
  4. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, Rudolph's new Wifi tool there allows you to dump games and dump/restore save files through Wifi, so you no longer need an old slot-2 card to dump games. It'll take quite a bit of time of course, but it's possible.
     
  5. D3FAULT

    Newcomer D3FAULT Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    I need help with that Slot-1 app, actually.

    Does anyone here know how to set up the .ini file? I know how to set it up... (in notepad) but I don't know what to edit, and what what to put in the edited places. I have a website w/ ftp access, but I don't know what info to edit the .ini file with. Anyway know how? [​IMG]
     
  6. shadowofdarkness

    Member shadowofdarkness GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    353
    Country:
    Canada
    Great program. I used the wifi version to dump my Tetris DS game and backup the save and put them both on my R4 and it worked awesome.

    Love being able to dump my own games and find this to be better at saves then savsender because I don't have to run netcat everytime I need to manage save games.
     
  7. Dylaan
    OP

    Member Dylaan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks! Someone else actually bumped a similar topic about the WiFi Backup Tool thing just after I posted. I'm thinking of getting a Slot-2 Card... I just want one that'll play GBA games, and preferably use TF/MicroSD. Oh, and it has to fit a DS Phat...
     

Share This Page