Dual-Booting

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Rowan, Aug 11, 2010.

Aug 11, 2010

Dual-Booting by Rowan at 1:49 PM (1,099 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

1. Rowan
    OP

Member Rowan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

United Kingdom
    Hi there, I'm an ubuntu newbie,

I have successfully installed Ubuntu 9.10 onto my external hard drive and I think it's great [​IMG]

However, I have windows vista installed onto my internal hard drive and that's the reason I have ubuntu on my external,

I tried partitioning my internal hard drive and successfully shrank it down leaving unallocated space available,

I then restarted my computer and the boot screen left me with an error, meaning vista couldn't be loaded, so I had to use my recovery disk to reinstall it [​IMG]

So I eventually installed ubuntu on my external hard drive, this is great except for the fact I need to have the external hard drive plugged in to boot my computer even if I only want to go on windows,

Is there a way around this? Possibly by moving an ubuntu boot file onto my windows hard drive or something?

Thanks in advance

Rowan

2. Elritha

Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

Canada
    Sounds like GRUB may be an issue. It'd be easier to simply have both OS on your internal drive.

If you really want to continue to use Ubuntu on your external drive you should write GRUB to the MBR of your external drive. Also be sure that your bios supports booting from usb.

Basically it should make your external drive bootable that should run on any pc that supports usb booting, and it will leave your Windows installation and Windows bootloader untouched (though you may have to repair it from your previous install).