DSx86 0.30

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Rydian, Apr 3, 2011.

Apr 3, 2011

DSx86 0.30 by Rydian at 6:57 AM (5,970 Views / 0 Likes) 30 replies

  1. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] DSx86 0.30
    DOS emulator gets a major update.
    [​IMG]

    DSx86, the DOS emulator for the DS and DSi, has a received a major update today. This update changes the emulated architecture from an 80186 processor to an 80286, including protected mode. This means that it's now possible to run Windows 3.00a and various 16-bit windows programs on the DS![/p]

    [​IMG] Download
    [​IMG] Source
    [​IMG] Homebrew Bounty Entry
     


  2. aiRWaLKRe

    Member aiRWaLKRe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    260
    Location:
    Orlando
    Country:
    United States
    Windows 3. man its been a while since I have used that OS
     
  3. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    the faster he updates the quicker the game collection must be built!

    cheers for the news rydian.

    -another world
     
  4. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Thanks Pate for this nice update !

    Maybe we can have more than that in DSi mode :

    [​IMG]

    11MB or 14MB. [​IMG]

    I made a request in the bounty thread. [​IMG]
     
  5. shadowmanwkp

    Member shadowmanwkp Your roms are on another rom site

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Location:
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Usefulness raised by 80% [​IMG]

    Now in all seriousness, I'm wondering how much you can run simultaneously on win3. The DS'es RAM ain't much at all and emulating a processor can impact performance greatly......
     
  6. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
  7. asiekierka

    Newcomer asiekierka Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    retf opcodes are not implemented which stops 90% of useful apps from working.

    I bugged Pate about it so it should be fixed in a week tops... I hope.
     
  8. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,817
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    How do I go about installing windows on it?
     
  9. asiekierka

    Newcomer asiekierka Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    Get the Windows 3.00a installer files, put them on the SD card, use DSx86 to navigate to the directory with the installer, run setup.exe and follow the instructions.
     
  10. stanleyopar2000

    Member stanleyopar2000 The Official GBATEMP Thread Killer. No Mercy.

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,931
    Country:
    United States
    does this mean I can run Aladdin and other games that gave me OPCODE errors? [​IMG]
     
  11. KidIce

    Member KidIce Smart Ass

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    935
    Country:
    United States
    Protected mode is big and awesome news, Windows 3.00a on DSx86 isn't... One could run Windows 3.00a on DSx86 since v.22. Or am I missing something?
     
  12. stanleyopar2000

    Member stanleyopar2000 The Official GBATEMP Thread Killer. No Mercy.

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,931
    Country:
    United States

    Protected Mode...like all the games that use DOS4GW?? [​IMG]
     
  13. KidIce

    Member KidIce Smart Ass

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    935
    Country:
    United States
    I'm aware of that (see highlighted), but now the news makes it sound like Windows 3 on DSx86 is a new thing, and there are people asking how to install it on DSx86. I'm just not getting the excitement about Windows 3 on DSx86.
     
  14. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,817
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I keep getting an error whenever I try to install Windows 3
     
  15. stanleyopar2000

    Member stanleyopar2000 The Official GBATEMP Thread Killer. No Mercy.

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,931
    Country:
    United States
    seriously..whats so good about windows 3?....
     
  16. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,817
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It has a shell and is better than typing everything out
     
  17. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's better than DOS.

    Other than that it's purely an exercise of seeing what the DS can do. Now that 3.00a can be run on a DS the 3.11 should be able to run on a DSi and hopefully Windows 95 will be able to run on DS2x86 and may be able to run the earliest Windows games.
     
  18. stanleyopar2000

    Member stanleyopar2000 The Official GBATEMP Thread Killer. No Mercy.

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,931
    Country:
    United States

    so..if I install Windows 3..I will be able to play DOS4GW games and other previously unsupported OPCODE games?...

    if so..then I guess Windows 3 support is a bigger deal than "Protected Mode"
     
  19. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    I highly doubt that. It just emulates a 386, which is the bare minimum for Win95. Add running games on top of that, and I'm sure that almost nothing will run [​IMG]
     
  20. stanleyopar2000

    Member stanleyopar2000 The Official GBATEMP Thread Killer. No Mercy.

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,931
    Country:
    United States
    still getting many Unsupported Opcodes still ._.


    Still getting "DOS/16M error [15] PROTECTED MODE available only with 386 or 486 With C-Dogs (Cyberdogs)

    any fix for this yet?....or will there be?..or is it just software limitations

    can I run these games under Windows 3.00a?
     

Share This Page