DSVideo not working on Acekard 2i =(

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by haddad, Aug 12, 2010.

Aug 12, 2010
  1. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    I downloaded from http://filetrip.net/f4179-DSVideo-1-10.html and dragged the dsvideo foldor onto my microsd card. And it says this

    I tried with patching it and without patching it and still doesn't work =(
     
  2. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need a special modified patch for some cards. You need to change it from ARM9 to ARM7 or vice versa, can't remember. Anyway, I can't remember quite how to do it, but I think its a case of getting the source of the DLDI patch, opening the makefile, changing all references to "ARM9" to "ARM7" (or vice versa) and opening a terminal/command prompt, navigating to the directory with the source and typing "make".
     
  3. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    Is there a tutorial somewhere on how to do this? Or if there is not, can u please tell me how?
     
  4. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just did...
     
  5. TheTwoR's

    Member TheTwoR's Yay I can finally edit this thingy :D

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    670
    Country:
    Belgium
    He means he wants you to Elaborate.
    I don't think he understood. [​IMG]
     
  6. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know [​IMG]

    But I can't really give much more detail than that. There used to be a guide on the DSVideo website, but IIRC its no longer online...
     
  7. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    How do I "change it from ARM9 to ARM7 " ????
     
  8. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Open the makefile, find everywhere it says "ARM9" and change it to "ARM7" each time. Then "make" the DLDI patch. I'm pretty sure I said this already.
     
  9. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    What makefile?
     
  10. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The makefile of the DLDI patch source code. I definitely said this stuff already.
     
  11. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    I cannot find RPGS.dldi source code.
     
  12. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds like it can't be done then, unless you contact Acekard and ask them to do it.
     
  13. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    Works fine. Try this

    Getting DSvideo to run on an Acekard
    1) Download dsvideo - http://filetrip.net/f4179-DSVideo-1-10.html
    2) Download DLDI and tools - http://www.megaupload.com/?d=2RJCPQI4
    3) Extract Dldi stuff.rar to a folder on the PC
    4) (from akAIO firmware) copy ./_aio/ak2_sd.dldi to the folder you just made
    5) copy dsvideo-unpatched-1.10.nds from the [4598]dsvideo_1.10.zip to the same folder you just made.
    6) Optional - Re-name dsvideo-unpatched-1.10.nds to something better like just dsvideo.nds if you want
    7) run dlditool32.exe and make sure Acekard Ak2 is showing in the drop down box
    8) select dsvideo.nds (or whatever you renamed it to) as the binary and click patch.
    9) (not sure if this step really needed but what the hell) run DLDI No-Patch.exe and patch your dsvideo.nds.
    10) Copy the No-Patch version of dsvideo.nds to SD it should now run.


    Converting videos to work with DSvideo
    1) Download dsvideo Converter - http://filetrip.net/f9622-DSVideo-Encoder-1-01.html
    2) Extract the contents of 9622-dsvideo-win-1.01.zip to the PC
    3) Copy any videos you wish to covert to the same folder
    4) run dsvideo.exe (movie name), this should produce a .dsv file. (this will take a while)
    5) Or/ you could just skip step 3 and 4 and drag and drop the movie you want converted onto dsvideo.exe.
    6) copy the .dsv file to the SD and should now be able to watch it on the DS.
     
  14. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    I was able to run a .dsv on Acekard 2i perfectly! THANK YOU! (make ur post into a sticky >_
     
  15. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
     
  16. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok currently right now I am running windows update, and it says this:

    So i'll wait till this update finishes, and I will tell u if it works or not.
     
  17. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok I tried to run "dsvideo.exe" and all I get is a black cmd screen for like 4sec then it disappears. But if I run the "convert.bat" file it asks me what file I want to convert. So i type in "test.mp4" then the prompt then enables dsvideo.exe and uses it to convert into .dsv. Couple minutes later it was done then I got "test.dsv" I tried playing it in my ds and it works perfectly but there is a annoying "trrrrrrr....." sound in the background that will not go away!

    Is this because this is mp4? I will try with avi later and see what i get.
     
  18. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    The easiest way to run dsvideo is to drag the movie file onto the dsvideo executable.

    The "trrrrrr....." could be the type of audio the file was encoded with. There are so many types and this is only a simple converter. I'm suprised it worked with an MP4 at all. Does the original video play louder than a normal video on the PC?

    You can't go wrong with an avi. MP4 and H264 formats are always going to be complicated.
     
  19. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    All I did was use Youtube Video Downloader HD to download http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mdMaZlWkK8o in .mp4 format. And yes that .mp4 video plays perfectly with no sound. Can I play the .dsv on the computer anyway? Or are u talking about playing original video (the mp4)
     
  20. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    ---Update---

    I converted the .mp4 to .avi then from there I converted to .dsv and the "trrrrrr....." was gone.

    So I guess this only accpets .avi =(
     

Share This Page