DSi XL Firmware update

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by Prince Valmont, Aug 28, 2010.

Aug 28, 2010

DSi XL Firmware update by Prince Valmont at 5:19 AM (2,063 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Prince Valmont
    OP

    Member Prince Valmont GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Just bought a DSi XL tonight, and while it's charging, I would like to ask if it would be safe to update the system's firmware. I'm not sure if it would mess with the SCDS2 or not.
     
  2. Scott-105

    Member Scott-105 Bow to me. Please?

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,943
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm guessing your not on 1.4 firmware on your DSi. As I'm pretty sure there arn't any newer firmwares than that. Just update. The SCDSTWO is ready to be used with 1.4 right out of the box.
     
  3. Prince Valmont
    OP

    Member Prince Valmont GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Excellent. Thank you.
     
  4. Clookster

    Banned Clookster Your Clookster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    Suisse Romande
    Country:
    Switzerland
    I don't think that there's any DSi XL with a firmware below 1.4.

    1.4 is one year old now.
     
  5. 1Player

    Member 1Player GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    dark corners of the internet
    Country:
    United States
    all DSi XL comes with 1.4..and yes dstwo works on it
     
  6. Prince Valmont
    OP

    Member Prince Valmont GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, one more question if that's cool:
    I can only use my wi-fi in games (like Dragon Quest IX) as long as I have Wireless Communications enabled from the DSi XL setup menu, right?

    So if I have my DSi XL setup to always have the Wireless Communications enabled, will that drain my battery faster? Even if I'm in a game that isn't using the feature?

    It just makes sense for the system to have a wireless feature set up like the DS & DSLite: Only turns on the wireless mode when a game needs to access it (like DQ IX's DQVC mode)
     
  7. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know about have to enable. But Wireless Communication DO consume battery faster.
     
  8. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    The wireless setting consumes power only during Wifi play and in the DSi menu.

    Also, the DSi XL still gets a semi-update, which doesn't really do anything. It doesn't block flashcarts, and it doesn't even change the version number (but it's still an update).
     

Share This Page